Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-06-21 - 10:57 p.m.

Like a bird thats lost its mate in flight

Im a-lone and oh, so blue to-night

Like a piece of driftwood on the sea

May you never be alone like me.

Holy crap it's a slow night tonight. I must be the only person around without anything better to do on thursday.


Dude, you'll be going to sleep as soon as you finish this, old man. You need your sleep, grandpa.


I need a lot of things, but yes, sleep is one of the primary ones. I also need to go down to the batting cages more often so I don't lose my temper at an inopportune time. And I need a haircut. And a pony.

Oh, and new contacts lenses.

Why?

Because mine cracked. Actually, shattered would be more accurate. I popped them out the other night to clean them and as i started to rub the left one with the cleaning gunk i heard a little crack, then when i looked, the lens was in 3 pieces.

Joy. And despite actually being the most expensive thing I currently own, the contact lens is one of the few things that didn't come with a damn warranty or anything, so I gotta go through all the hassle of trying to get my insurance to pay for new ones again.

Awesome.

Yeah, it was the beginning of a really terrible horrible no good very bad day, actually. I slept pretty fitfully (what is interesting, and by interesting I mean boring at best and stupid emo crap at worst, is that a couple of nights before the contact lens broke i had a dream that i broke my contacts. Then the night they did break, i had a dream that a good friend of mine died. Coincidence? No, just my subconscious fucking with me again.)

Where was I?

Buying pants that come up to your armpits and learning to play shuffleboard, old man.

No, wait...I remember.

I would hope so- you trailed off just a few lines up...you do still remember how to read, don't you?

Dude, no one reads this anymore. Least of all me.

Point.

Anyway, I slept pretty badly. So badly, in fact, that I was more out of it the next morning than I can recall being in a long time.

Oh?

yeah. What do we sleep in?

Whichever girl we've duped into believing we are attractive?

Ok, that's not sleep, and that also never happens. Try again.

Uh...the spider-man boxers and a ratty t-shirt.

Yeah. So i woke up and got dressed and went to work. And when I went to use the restroom at work, i discovered that I had literally gotten up and gotten dressed. at no point did i change out of the clothes i normally sleep in every night, i just put the clothes on over the pajamas.

Nice. that had to have been comfortable.

Oh yeah, i was loving it. and that pretty much set the tone for the work day, which sucked hard. then i came home to a house that's way too crowded right now and tried not to go insane.

Terrible horrible no good very bad day.

Pretty much- today was a lto better though. first day of summer, weather was nice, it's raining right now, work was manic rather than depressive.

House still crowded?

yeah. i need to get out this weekend. I should do something....something like....I dunno...seeing the gin blossoms in wind lake. that sounds like it'd be a fun time on saturday night. I should see if i can make that happen.

*clap clap* it is done.

sweet.

"All right, then, princess...I'm going to write you a prescription here for a pair of testicles, and you feel free to get stocked up on that when you get a chance, ok?"

Heh. I can't do it. Doing the right thing takes more than I'm capable of. I think I'm going to take the easy way out, despite the cost.

I want to thank everyone who participated in the great MP3 color debate of 2007. To recap, the choices were black, white, pale pink, and baby/powder blue.

As my friend Gary put it- "a difficult decision...unless, of course, you're straight, in which case you can narrow it down a couple."

Most of you voted for pink, simply because "it's such a you color" and you all knew that I would seriously buy and carry around a pink mp3 player and act like that doesn't say anything about me. A couple of you said baby blue, which makes me wonder where the hell your taste is, because blue doesn't have the novelty of pink despite being the only color to make the pink look hetereo.

The rest said black. whitey got no lovin', which is fine by me. Kill all white people.

I went with black. partially because i chose it over pink- pink would have been cool, but the novelty would have gone away after a couple days of getting my ass kicked and then i'd have been stuck wiht a pink mp3 player. So black was the obvious choice.

Especially cause that was the only color the store had. Someone suggested I shoulda batted my eyelashes at the saleslady and asked her to pretty please look int he back...plan is no good for two reasons, first the aforementioned lack of a way with the ladies- she'd have been frightened more than anything, and second...what is the definition of mixed signals?

When a guy flirts with you like he's straight...to get you to go find him a pink mp3 player. her head might have exploded.

Liz- I love the zoo.
Em- Yeah, i want to go so i can pet a stingray. I hear they let you do that.
Me- I remember petting a stingray at the natural history museum when we were kids.
Brook- I remember steve irwin trying to pet a stingray.

I think I bring out the worst in people.

I smell vinegar.

and water. HA!!!!!!!!!

No one will get that, but it made me snicker, which is more than I can say for any of the other sad attempts at humor to be found here.

Ok, sleepytime. Oh, and the obligatory song. I'll be back in a few days to gush about how awesome the gin blossoms are, in case you think there's a chance i might have changed my mind after this show. If anyone wants robin wilson to sing to them, let me know what song you want me to call you when they play it.

What?

Seriously- dude tends to grab people's cell phones out of the crowd and sing into them during concerts. next best thing to being there.

Go to bed, doofus.

K.

SWERVE!!!! This song isn't by the gin blososms. or hank williams. figure that one out! and no one will ever get all the other songs i directly referenced this time out. HAHAHAHA! I am the champion...of writing solely for my own amusement.

Ken

Ever since we said our goodbyes
The onion rings, the phone makes me cry
Something isn't right
Like the Deep Blue without the Great White

In the morning open your eyes
The waterfalls, the fire flies
You're an abacus
And my heart was counting on us

Your heart's got a heavy load
There's still a long way to go
Keep your eyes on the road

Crescent moon sings me to sleep
The birches bark, the willows weep
But I lie awake
I'm adrift without a snowflake

Your heart's got a heavy load
There's still a long way to go
Keep your eyes on the road

Your heart's got a heavy load
There's still a long way to go
Keep your eyes on the road

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com