Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-29 - 11:12 p.m.

On a stretch of I-70 in Ohio between Dayton and Cincinnati lies the town of Monroe.

Me- JESUS!!!

Justin- What's wrong, Ken?

Me- Nothing. Just...look! It's Jesus. And he's FUCKING HUGE!!!

Justin- What do youOHMYGOD!!! IT'S HUGE!!! AHHHHHHHH!!!!

or something to that effect.

What we saw was this, the King of Kings (Or as we call it, BJE, for Biggest Jesus Ever), the largest statue of Jesus in North America at the Solid Rock Church in Monroe.

http://www.solidrockchurch.org/king.htm

That's right. 62 solid feet of Jesus. And that's just the torso. Imagine if they had the legs on there, too. And this thing is just sitting in front of this church, facing the highway, so there's no way you can miss it when you're driving. I just about wet myself when I saw it. So of course, we had to get off the highway, turn around, and drive over to the parking lot of this church so we could get photos of this statue. I didn't have my camera with me, but Justin got a nice shot of me standing in front of this thing that I promise to post 1) after he emails it to me and 2) when someone tells me how.

I wanted to climb it and take a photo of me sitting on the shoulder like he was Gulliver or something.

I dunno if the Beatles were bigger than this Jesus.

That was the most interesting thing that happened to me this week, aside from the fact that I now only have one more week of shows before the tour is over, and most of them are in Milwaukee, so I'll be home a lot. Then I'll be unemployed!

More later.

-Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com