Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-22 - 8:43 p.m.

So...

Ummm...

Stuff has happened, and I swear I'll write something less useless later on this weekend. For now though, it looks like I should just say that I'm in the process of joining the exodus over to livejournal.
Same user name and all that good stuff, no worries. The thing is, this site has lost all of my entries from 2002 and earlier, going all the way back to my very first one.

Well, not lost, per se, but there's some sort of problem with the coding of the site, according to Justin. The entries are there in my "edit" page for me to edit, but you all can't view them. Try it. Click on "Older" and see how far you get.

Maybe it's just me being sentimental, but the prospect of losing 2+ solid years (remember, this was before this thing got crappy, back when I was putting real effort into it to impress women) was kinda depressing when I thought the entries were gone for good. Tech support has helped me as much as they helped Pete, which is to say not at all, which blows.
And I get tired of having to wait while they install new hardware that will hopefully work better than the last set that crashed.

So...that leaves us here. As much as I abhor change and am praying that the livejournal style grows on me, I'm in the (long slow) process of moving ALL my archives over to LJ and using them to write new ones (which I will likely copy and paste in here just to keep this thing active, just in case it proves safe to move back)
So what does all this mean to you? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!! You can get your regular dose of Ken in two places now, but you don't care. If you cared that much, you'd have been clamoring for more in the first place.
Hell, I don't even care that much, I just didn't want people to think I was whoring for more attention by having to journals instead of one, or that I was writing different things in each. I wouldn't do that to you all. This is being done first and foremost out of a sense of preservation for handful of things I've written over those first few years that were pretty good (and cause I'm too damn lazy to actually find the few that are worth holding onto, so I'm exporting them en masse)
Why am I boring you with this?
Well, two reasons.
1) It gives me an entry to shut you all up while I finish collecting my thoughts on all the events since my trip to NY.
2) It gives me a chance to post this entry simultaneously in LJ and D-Land, which fulfills a pipe dream I've always had of emulating the time Vince McMahon was on WWF Raw and WCW Nitro at the exact same time. The surrealistic quality does not, however, make up for the fact that I'm doing this to fulfill a wrestling-related pipe dream. It just makes me an even bigger loser.
So to those of you who are more D-Land-centric, this is sort of a closing, as I feel I'm starting down a path that's eventually gonna take me out of this page I've verbally vomited all over for the last 4+ years and onto something new that I don't like as much.
For those of you joining me through LJ, you'll find below the first entry I ever wrote. Man, the more things change, the more they stay the same. The writing style changes from year to year (and in some cases, from sentence to sentence) but the lame and the stupid remain there eternally. Who else would make such a big deal over SWITCHING THEIR DAMN WEBSITE??? WHO COULD BE THAT BIG A LOSER???

I could. And so I will.

Ken

Goodbye (kinda, sorta, for now) to swtrilogy.diaryland.com

Hello (In an awkward, not sure this is really what I want and wishing it was 2 years ago kind of way) to www.livejournal.com/users/swtrilogy

Ah hell, even the address is less cool...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com