Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-02-03 - 18:30:25

Boy, what a physical day I had yesterday. Bowling, wrestling, and volleyball. Now that's what I call a workout.

The first night of the school bowling league was last night. I went 155 and 177, which is a good day for me. I'm actually starting to get hopeful about me chances on the individual standings. Pity I have to miss next week. (Evil auditions!!! How I detest thee!!! Why do I still have this dread fear of rejection? You'd think after all the rejections I've already gotten that I would have become numb to them by now. Well, I am kind of numb, but not entirely. It still hurts a bit.)

Anywho, then there was midnight volleyball. You haven't lived until you've gone sliding around on a hard gym floor after an errant volleyball at 1 in the morning. We played 4 two game matches, and actually managed to win one of our games! Go us! However, I have several intersting layers of floor burn on my knees (even through the pads) and my back hurts from landing funny. Maybe I should take a cue from others on my team and not try so hard. I'll just let the ball come to me, and if it doesn't, I'll just watch it hit the ground.

Who am I kidding? I could never do something like that. It just wouldn't be me. The only way I can ever have fun when I'm playing a sport is if I'm absolutely killing myself out there. Then I feel really good. Alive. Like I'm not just taking up space anymore.(I think I view it as a kind of performance, because that's the only other thing that gives me that rush. I'm putting on a physical performance, instead of a vocal one. Maybe that's why I like wrestling so much. It's the ideal combination of the two things I love the most.) I guess that's why I can't understand not trying your hardest when you play, even if you do suck. I suck at a lot of sports, but it's still fun if you're willing to sacrifice the body. I mean, my geriatric years (should I live so long) are the time to just stand there with my arms folded and watch the action. Now if only I could get this motivated about the other parts of life, I could really go somewhere.

Speaking of wrestling, in between volleyball matches, I showed Sarah the mats I use to practice wrestling, and even taught her a few moves. It was the first time I've gotten on the mats in over a month, so naturally, I overdid it. My back feels ike one giant knot. I want to just superglue myself to one of those vibrating chairs for a few days. Or hire a professional, but that's expensive, I hear.

I just about have my resume prepared. I decided to list my special skills as "Wrestling- Professional" so that the implication would be that I can fall without killing myself. You know, I was looking at my acting resume, and if you ignore the fact that it's all done in educational theatre, I have a really impressive resume. Tons of important roles in classic plays. I've been in two Shakespeares, the Crucible twice, and No Exit (which is really impressive if you've heard of it. And no one cares if they haven't heard of it. which I suppose is true for a lot of plays) If I had built this resume at a place like the Milwaukee Rep or APT, I'd have companies wetting themselves to get me signed with them. As it is, I could probably have every high school program in the country wetting themselves to get me enroll at their high school.

By the way, the last entry was not a song as hinted, but it is instead a speech from Life Is A Dream, a classic play by Don Pedro Calderon de la Barca, a Spansih playwright who lived around 1600. I'm using it as my classical piece in my audition next week (my contemporary is from Sea of Forms, by Megan Terry). The main character is a prince who has been raised in seclusion all his life with only two guards/servants for company, and he speaks that speech when he sees a woman for the first time in his life. (naturally, it's love at first sight because she is very beautiful) I like the way Calderon writes. He has a way with words that's almost as beautiful as Shakespeare, without seeming as awkward. It's obviously classical, but it sounds more contemporary and is easier to understand. I'm also using the piece because 99.99% of the people who audition use Shakespeare as their classical pieces. If I use Calderon, it's still classical, but it's different. Different means more memorable. Memorable means I'm more likely to get a callback. Callbacks mean work.

Okay, that's enough for now. I' think I've bored you enough. More later.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com