Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-02-04 - 06:29:51

Today was soooooo much fun. I worked from 5 to 11. Yes, that would be 6 hours. Now, I know what you're going to say, "Most people work more than that every day, Ken, so what are you bitching about?"

Well, most people's jobs involve doing more than just sitting around watching your ass get fatter every day. I mean, even the jobs that are just repititive work, like factory assembly, at least you're doing something the entire time, as opposed to just sitting there waiting for people to come in. And it's a lose/lose situation, because when customers do come in, they piss me off, and I spend the rest of the time they're there wishing they would leave so I could be alone again. I know I shouldn't complain because my job is really great compared to most. I just think maybe there should be a cap on how long an individual shift can be. No one should work more than 2 hours at a time.

On the plus side, I had a wonderful time when I left work. Maybe it was being cooped up inside for 6 hours, I don't know, but it was snowing when I left, and for some reason, it made me really happy. It was the right kind of snow, too, the big, wet flakes that are fun to try to catch in your mouth. Which I did. I must have really disturbed the people walking behind me, jerking my head spastically every few seconds.

The snow kept it from being too cold, and it was just nice to be outside for the walk back to my room. In fact, I'd have walked all over town if I hadn't been carrying my heavy backpack. And if I had been wearing better shoes. As it was, I was wearing the ones with the soles worn competely smooth, which meant I had no traction on the icy patches. Which meant I nearly fell on my ass a lot. Because I'm really clumsy. Because my brain just doesn't fire properly. Because my mom did a lot of drugs when she was pregnant with me.

Just kidding. Yes, I am clumsy, but my mom didn't even drink coffee whilst pregnant, out of concern for my health and well being. I love you, Mom! Now if only I could learn the same concern for my own health and safety. I could give up on this wrestling thing, and make my family happy.

Tai (by the way, I'm not normally a big fan of dropping names randomly in things like this, but I figure most people who read this know who I'm talking about. And for those who don't (keep them new readers coming in!), any and all names I drop like that are friends of mine here in Ripon unless otherwise noted. Good?)

Anywho, Tai came in to see me at work today, and she offered to set me up on a blind date. I'm dubious, but I've agreed to give it a whirl. I figure it's only one date, which is no big deal, and it could turn out to be the start of something good, if the girl doesn't turn out to be a total freak, or think that I'm a psycho. I'll have to fool her. And I'm always on the lookout for future ex-girlfriends.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com