Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2011-07-21 - 4:02 p.m.

"I'm not too young for anything, anymore." -Roger Clyne

So here we are again. It's time for self-aggrandizement. I meant to post this a couple days ago, but just cause I'm back in the US it's not like I'm on vacation or anything. At least, not anymore...

Looking back on where I was this time last year, I think that focusing on the positives in my life at turning 30 was a really good thing. So this year, I'm doing the same thing, only we're not going to be looking at the future (cause damn, that's scary and also full of way more unknown and potential regret) but by looking back. many of my older (older than me, i mean) friends told me the 30s are a great time in life. last year i prepared myself for the reality of it by focusing on all that was looking good. And I think I got a lot done in the last year. In fact, the time between 30 and 31 may well have been the most productive year of my life. Let's recap. Since turning 30 I have...

-Had my own dressing room for a show at the Birmingham Old Rep, the oldest theatre in Birmingham and one of the places Olivier started out.

-Gotten drunk in Dublin (and toured a castle afterward, if my photo album is to be believed)

-Seen an English Premiere League match live and in person thanks to Alan (and adopted a team only to watch them get relegated)

-Kissed someone atop the Eiffel Tower at night.

-Partied the night away at Grad Ball with a bunch of fun Brits, leaving with the dawn.

-Managed to keep 98% of the population from knowing I'd be at Formal, thus pulling off the greatest surprise I've ever managed.

-Been asked for my autograph after a show. Twice.

-Attended the Brewer's home opener for the first time.
-Also tailgated for the first time.

-Had acupuncture, ultra-sound, and massage therapy treatments for the first time- my legs feel better than they have in years.

-Seen John Cleese live at the Hippodrome and got an autographed poster.

-Finished about 85% of a Master's Degree (though if my project is a failure and i don't get the degree, this one will be biting me in the ass for quite some time)

-Discovered the joys of Bovril.

-Discovered the horrors of pork faggots.

-Poured my own Guinness at the brewery. And got a certificate for doing it so well.

-Stood on stage at The Globe.

-Seen the sun set on the Irish Sea from Clontarf Wharf.

-co-created the Manstrosity with Tyler.

-tried Pussy for the first time. Along with Relentless, Red Devil, Boost, and Ed Hardy, a fierce collection of British energy drinks that all failed to make my heart explode.

-Successfully entered both Notre Dame and St. Patrick's cathedrals without bursting into flame.

-Bought comic books in 3 different countries.

-Got a certificate...no, wait...2 certificates in whiskey appreciation and connoisseurship from the Jameson Distillery.

-Tasted Cadbury chocolate in liquid form fresh from the machine. Even used it to write my name.

-Had breakfast at Tiffany's (a coffee shop in Selly Oak. Actually I think it was called Coffee at Tiffanys, so I guess I had breakfast at Coffee at Tiffanys? whatever. the owner gave me free salad cause I like Elvis)

-Learned to do an English accent so well that the head of the school called it perfect and British students were wondering if I was actually an American of just pretending to be one.

-Been photographed in front of (and in most cases gone into and explored) the Louvre, Notre Dame, St. Patrick's, Versailles Palace, the Eiffel Tower, Shakespeare's birthplace, The Globe, the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery, Buckingham Palace, Withybed Gardens, Trinity College Library, and 221B Baker Street.

-had my first ever death scene in a play, and had everyone say it was the best work I did all year (hmm...playing an alcoholic, sex-addict with a bawdy sense of humor who dies of a combination of alcoholism and an STD at 32, and everyone says i did a fantastic job of 'acting' in it....)

-sang in front of a room full of people and didn't just get by but did a pretty good job of it (though it was only the once)

-tried an Irish breakfast, an English cream tea, a French duck, a traditional fish and chips, too many great beers and ciders to count, bacon vodka, horseradish vodka, Topic bars, late night kebab, cottage pie, bangers and mash, tons of cheeses, butterbeer, spring bok, wild boar, and kangaroo (I'm working my way through the Hundred Acre Wood) all for the first time, and those are just the ones I can remember to list.

-gotten my ass handed to me at darts by an old guy in a pub.

-survived 9 months in England without destroying US/British diplomatic relations singlehandedly (although man, is the Queen ever cross with me).

So there we go. 31 awesome things i've done since turning 30.

"The more you live, the less you will die..."

I feel younger than I have in a long time, and to prove it, I'll let you know that I got carded buying beer today. So there. Babyface FTW.

Old Man Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com