Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-09-11 - 11:38 p.m.

Seven years has gone so fast. Indeed. Just because you're old doesn't mean you can't still use a little advice from your dad every now and then. Quite the opposite, in fact- the older I get, the more times I wish I could give you a call and talk things over with you. I miss you, Dad. I miss a lot of people. Too many, I think. Grandma, Andy, Alan, but you most of all because I feel like now I'm at a time in my life where you and I would be bonding in a way we wouldn't have been able to before, if that makes any sense. There's always a generation gap, but when a guy's been out in the world for a few years, fending for himself, dealing with crappy jobs and idiot bosses and useless coworkers and the agonies of home maintenance; when he's loved and lost and lost his wallet, been to some birthdays, and some funerals, and had his friends all start getting married and having kids, and had a brush or two with the law and maybe, God help me, even begun to mature a little bit, he really starts to get a better understand of where his old dad was coming from, and wants to talk it over with him, collaborate to figure out the next step on the path.

Or even just have a couple beers together and talk about how awesome it is that Derek Jeter just passed Lou Gehrig as the all time hits leader for the Yankees. You know, guy stuff.

Dad, I miss you, and I love you. I know you were proud of me when you were alive, and I hope you would be still. There have been some big changes in my life recently, and there's more coming. I could use your guidance, now more than ever, but you were one of the smartest, toughest men I ever knew. I'll try to follow that example, and I'll be all right. I'll always be your Cowboy.

*************************************

Today I strike out on my own
The dog is dead. The kids have grown
I fell asleep in my writing chair
I drempt I'd found my childhood stare
To family dinner Christmas night
We'd cross the river shipyard lights
Before the heartbreak and unknown
Today I strike out on my own


Hi-diddely-o, didn't ya know?
You fade once you glow
Didn't ya know, child?
After the ryhme, high time
diddely-o, didn't you know?
You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya known, child?
After the ryhme, high time.

The families gather but we're all
Mere Shadows in this Banquet Hall
I'm beggin mom will you understand
I'm beggin dad will you hold her hand
To play outside was all i'd known
And Christmas lights on every home


We find the people of our dreams
We find that they're not what they seem
I've learned that people come and go
I've learned that families break and grow
Toy soldiers brave away those tears
Toy soldiers hope for better years
Today I strike out on my own
The dog is dead. We kids have grown.

Hi-diddely-o, didn't ya know?
You fade once you glow
Didn't ya know, child?
After the ryhme, high time
diddely-o, didn't you know?
You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya known, child?
After the ryhme, high time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com