Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-05-01 - 8:38 p.m.

Last night I had a drink with Robin Wilson. During the show, not after.

Yeah, another month, another Gin Blossoms concert. As usual it was hella fun (yeah, you might think going to see the same band over and over would get boring, but believe me, if i started to get bored, i just wouldn't go...it's a great show, and one i highly recommend to anyone who hasn't been) This one was at a sportsbar in Schaumburg (John Barleycorn, funnily enough). It was awesome, and it did a lot to lift the foul mood i'd been walking around in for the last couple weeks.

Right about the middle of the concert, he orders 4 shots of Crown Royal and a Red Bull and vodka be brought to the stage cause the band is thirsty. Their trusty roadie (who gave me and Brook free guitar picks before the show started) went and got the drinks...but there were three bars in this place, and one of the other bars also made the drinks and sent them up with a waitress.

"Wow...there's 8 doubles of Crown Royal up here. I don't normally drink this shit, so if I start to puke, you'll just have to bear with me."

We'd been recognized already(evidenced by the way brook got a hearty clap on the shoulder as he made his way out to the stage), in the same spot we always are, front row, rocking out, so during Super Girl, he picked up two of the extra shots and brought them over, handed one to me, one to brook, got a third for himself, said "Cheers" and we all clinked glasses and drank. Then he went to go throw up while the rest of the band jammed for a bit, came out, declared he was "good and fucking drunk now, I haven't been this drunk in Chicago since 1993" and shook hands with us after the show was over.

I hate crown royal normally. But when someone hands you a drink, you drink it, and that goes doubly so when it's the lead singer of your favorite band. Because then you can say things like

I had a drink with the lead singer of my favorite band.

Ken

It's been such a long time since I've seen you around
I ran into your brother, he said you were back in town
It's just so funny to see you in this dive
It must be so different when you're eight miles high

Supergirl flying through the atmosphere
Touching down in Paris, soon be in Tangiers
It's a superhero's welcome when you finally come back down
But even when you land I'll bet your feet don't touch the ground
Supergirl

I heard about your father, and it was sad to hear
I would have made the service, but I thought it might be weird
My family sent some flowers, he was such a kind old man
That time he caught us kissing behind the old bandstand

Supergirl flying through the atmosphere
Touching down in Paris, soon be in Tangiers
It's a superhero's welcome when you finally come back down
But even when you land I'll bet your feet don't touch the ground
Supergirl

Sometimes late at night when I'm all alone
I watch the airplane lights, make my way back home
I wonder if you're flying somewhere up in the clouds
While the rest of us are stuck here down inside the crowd

Are you ever lonely in some motel room
Looking out the window at an ever-changing world?
Can you think as far back as when you and I were young
If anyone would make it, you're gonna be the one

Supergirl flying through the atmosphere
Touching down in Paris, soon be in Tangiers
It's a superhero's welcome when you finally come back down
But even when you land I'll bet your feet don't touch the ground
Supergirl

Supergirl
Can you hear me calling?
Supergirl
I don't think she can
Supergirl
Can you hear me calling?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com