Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-11-08 - 10:12 p.m.

If I eat a Panera Bread one more time I am going to be seriously ill. For the last couple weeks, i.e., most of the time that i've been vanish-ed from the face of the earth, I've been going straight from work to Panera to eat dinner.

Why would you do that to yourself, Ken?

Well, because work, home, and the theare form this wonderful equilateral triangle across milwaukee that effectively means it is not worth my time to go home after work, even though I leave at 4 and rehearsal no start till 6:30. this is one of the few times i'll concede that not owning a car is seriously boning me- by the time i got home, i'd have just enough time to maybe change clothes before i had to head right back out again across town to get to the theatre. PLus one of my work like obligations is to sign on from home or someplace every day after i leave and upload data on my nifty company issue laptop. meaning if i'm not going to go home, i gotta get someplace where i can get online with said nifty laptop.

Oh dear, whatever shall I do? Wait, there's a panera only a few minutes walk from work, and they have wireless connectivity. and i can leave panera at 5 and get to rehearsal spot on at 6:30. I suppose they'll want me to buy something to justify sitting their using their bandwidth. and even though it's only 4:30, it's also the last chance i will have to have anything for dinner until i get home home, around 10.

as a logistical plan it works ok but if i see one more bagel i'm gonna erp. luckily i only have to do this once more, as we open tomorrow, and thus no rehearsal anymore. after tomorrow the only other weekday i have to be down there is next friday, and i'm going to call in, leave early, do what3ever it takes to make sure i get home first.

it's all good though- starting tomorrow,a s part of one of the scenes in the show, the director is buying me a chalupa from taco bell to eat onstage (her idea), so instead of panera bread dinners it'll be taco bell every night of the run. that's sorta like out of the frying pan and into hell. I'll be missing panera in no time.

"One more day me johnny/one more day"

and this has been a rough week. Tuna was a hard enough show to master when I was doing it twice a day every day for six weeks- i still felt like i might not be 100% ready. trying to feel ready to go on one run through a night after an 8 hour work day is harder, both in the "man I'm tired sense" and in the "man, this show could still be way funnier" sense. On the one hand it's easier with 5 actors instead of 2, but on the other hand, it's harder with 5 actors instead of 2. with 2 it's more frantic, but tom and i put so much into it and got a crash course in getting to know each other really well so we were pretty smooth working with each other by the time we opened.
with 5 it's more laid back, i get breaks, i don't have to rush everything all the time, but it's harder to connect with 4 other people the way you need to in order to really milk a show like this for all it's worth.
i think we'll be all right though. dress rehearsal tonight was a lot of fun, relaxed enough i felt free to try new things, and man oh man do i look absolutely insanely comical in this dress- hot pink flowery type thing, and my nightgown/hairnet for the evening scene is priceless. you'll either laugh or be sick.
so to anyone coming, i hope you enjoy it. if you don't, we've got your money anyway, and it's going to charity, so you can't complain too much or you're a bad person.

party at my house after you see the show.

www.soulsticetheatre.org

showtimes at 7:30 all days, Friday is preview/pay what you can night.

Ces showed me once how to post a banner or something but i forget how.

yes, this whole thing has been one long shameless pimp. what else is there for me to do? talk about how many comics i bought last week (a ton- giant grab bag for $10) or getting so drunk in ripon at halloween that i passed out in a pool of my own sick? (that didn't really happen but man that's a disgusting image, isn't it?) those things are important too, but one thing at a time.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com