Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-10-17 - 10:29 p.m.

So I got hit by a car today.

That is probably the second greatest entry I've had to an entry, trailing only the time I shot myself in the face (long story).

I'm all right, I promise (Hi Mom)

I was walking to the bus stop, and as I was crossing the driveway of the McDonald's by the house a truck pulled up intending to turn left. The driver never actually looked anywhere but at the oncoming traffic lane, clearly looking for an opening to the median. His opening came and he started off, and that happened to directly coincide with the point at which I was directly in front of his car (Wisconsin is a pedestrian right of way state, and it was a parking lot, so I figured I would be fine crossing in front of him, assuming he saw me. That was the big If.) Luckily I was only about six inches away from his car when he stepped on the gas, so the the "thud" wasn't very sharp, but he had pushed me halfway into the street before he finally noticed me pounding on his hood to get him to stop.
Unfortunately, I was fine, with the exception of some aching in my hand from beating on his hood so hard (I actually left a dent in it, but he didn't notice and I'm not going to tell him) Had I suffered any kind of believable injury, or had the presence of mind to fall to the ground and let him finish running me over, or had he been driving a company vehicle, i'd never have to work again after the settlement with his insurance company, given the circumstances of the incident. Since I was not at all injured, though, and since he was genuinely sorry about it and very concerned for my well being afterword, that's going to be the end of it, but I can't help feeling like my big chance has passed me by. I should have at least gotten him to drive me to work, since after we got all done with the "are you ok? here, take my insurance info, are you sure you're ok?" stuff I was about half an hour late today.

Seriously, though, I am fine, and damn lucky to be so...that truck was big, and there are all kinds of way I'd lose that accident. My favorite scenario was the one a lady at work gave me with me slipping and falling backward after the truck pushed me into the street, then a car running over my head.

In other news, I was cast in Greater Tuna for the second time. THis version is different, with 5 actors instead of 2, but I get to reprise a few of my favorite roles from the show, including playing the world's ugliest woman (who happens to be a high C soprano) and saying some of the most absolutely racist things in the name of comedy. I highly recommend anyone who missed me offending half the free world for money last time around to give this one a look.

Seriously, though, it's a very funny play. We run the first couple weekends in November and possibly the weekend after thanksgiving. Write for details, and I'll post some as we get closer to Go Time.

In other news, I beat Bark At the Moon on expert, making me officially the 2nd greatest guitar hero player you know if you know Greg, and the absolute best guitar hero player you know if you don't know greg.

In other news, I'm flying to New Mexico for Barbara's wedding tomorrow (the wedding isn't tomorrow, though, it's saturday) and I'll be there till early sunday morning (not as early as I usually tend to leave, but early) Good times will be had by all, especially those of youwith the presence of mind to come leave me presents of the mind while i'm back home. It's lonely up in the great white north. It'd be nice to hang out with people who aren't either my roommates or peopel who are trying to use me for emotional support. I seroiusly needed this vacation (well, i still technically do because i haven't taken it yet, but my grammar suffers when i'm sleepy)

Heh..mother of all weirdness. Ever have a song crop up in the randomizer at the exact moment it would seem to fit? the song wedding bells came up whiel i was writing the last paragraph. except only the title really fits, as weddings are happy occasions, but hank williams can make even a wedding somethign that makes you want to kill yourself.

The largest hot air balloon ever made flew over Albuquerque at the International Balloon Fiesta last week. New Mexicans were able to wake, roll out of bed early in the morning when it's still cold outside, look out their window, see thousands of hot air balloons all over the sky, and, large enoguh to blot out the sun, an 84 foot hot air balloon shaped like Darth Vader's head. That's the kind of boost that lets you forego coffee in the mornings. Plus the chase crew were all dressed as stormtroopers, meaning that people driving to work got to get passed by a pickup truck with a squad of stormtroopers in the back. i'm envisioning something that looks like a keystone kops routine.

Time to wrap it up- it's late and i've had a long day. longer one tomorrow. Hopefully i'll see some of you folks this weekend.

Ken


It was often talked about
It was often raised
But nothing was ever done about it
To hear the way they talked about it
Noone could be saved
But nothing was ever done about it

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
And live my whole life in silence instead?

It was oversimplified
It was underthought
And nothing was ever done to stop it
Everything was fortified by
All the lies we bought
And nothing was ever done to stop it

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
And live my whole life in silence instead?

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
(Shall I take back all my attacks? All of my accusations?)
And live my whole life in silence instead?
(All my mistrust - we never discussed anyone's reservations)

There was a time
When a crime was a crime
Now I think I'm losing my mind
Or taking it all too hard
Taking it all too hard
Taking it all too hard

Shall I take back all my attacks? All of my accusations?
All my mistrust - we never discussed anyone's reservations

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
(Shall I take back all my attacks? All of my accusations?)
And live my whole life in silence instead?
(All my mistrust - we never discussed anyone's reservations)

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
(Shall I take back all my attacks? All of my accusations?)
And live my whole life in silence instead?
(All my mistrust - we never discussed anyone's reservations)

Shall I take back everything I've ever said
(Maybe you're right, Maybe you're right, Maybe you're right, But I don't think so)
And live my whole life in silence instead?
(Maybe you're right, Maybe you're right, Maybe you're right, But I don't think so)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com