Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-12-27 - 12:32 p.m.

Last night while watching the Patriots game with some friends, including my friend Dino who knows nothing about sports, despite being a man fortunate enough to have a girlfriend who's a diehard football fan. The time is right after Mike Vrabel the linebacker caught his 2nd touchdwon.

Me- See, I would think by now that defenses would smarten up. When Vrabel lines up as a tight end, that should be the signal to double team him.

Dino- What?

Me- Well, since he's a defensive player, and every time he lines up on offense they throw him a touchdown, I would think that defenses would start to double cover him in that situation since the pass is likely coming to him.

Dino- No, what was the first part of what you said? "Something something that should be the signal to double team him?"

Me- When Vrabel lines up as a tight end...

Dino- OH! I thought you said his! I thought you said "When Vrabel lines up his tight end, that should be the signal to double team him."

Best laugh I've had all year. Dino's right, though. Football does sound kinda gay a lot of the time.

Ok, so I didn't think I'd be back in New Mexico again, but here I am, yo. Somehow a reasonably priced airfare came up when I searched travel options, and here I am again just in time for christmas. So really it was like I've lived in Albuquerque again since mid-November, I just took a couple weeks break in between to go get a job in Milwaukee. Aside from the interview, I did a great big pile of not much of anything during the time I was back in Milwaukee, hence the fact that I didn't write about it. Even I'm not egotistical enough to think any of you care about how far my Diablo II character has gotten in Hell. Hell, I barely care. (Act 3, by the way)

I do wanna give a shout out to Dr. Plenzenstein on finally getting his PhD. and being brave enough to let me come down to watch him get it. Congrats. Now, have you figured out what you wanna be when you grow up, pete?

When did airports turn into shopping malls? Each concourse in Cincy has its own food court. Not just a couple random spots- I swear I thought I was in Southridge Mall for a couple minutes.

Christmas was a very interesting (awkward) time. We spent Christmas Eve AND Christmas Day with the Albuquerque relatives who are barely relatives. Try to follow this one. My maternal grandfather's sister's widower and his sister and their kids and grandkids. I know grandpa's sister's husband is a great uncle technically, but I get lost after that. Some of them I know aren't even technically relatives, just in-laws, especially with Aunt Dorothy gone, but they're family anyway, even if we rarely see them. That was the awkward part. The cousins my age range? Haven't seen most of them since we were 10 or so, long enough that I can't remember the last time I did. Hug? Handshake? And where to begin talking to them?

"So, Matt...still playing with ninja turtles?"
"Uh...no, Ken...I would, but the guys on the football team give me such guff about it."

"So, Erin...haven't seen you this side of puberty. I hear you're a lesbian."

"How's it going? How have the last 15 years been? Whatcha been up to?"

Plus there's the "nothing in common" factor coming into play. They all go to or went to large state universities and majored in things like business and premed (coming from families of doctors and lawyers), then there's me with my small liberal arts college etc...I feel like I stumbled in from the wrong side of the tracks.

Admittedly, some of it is my fault, too. I'm really bad at keeping in touch with anyone beyond select close friends and immediate (mom and sister) family, and one cousin even went to UW-Mad while I was at ripon. we traded a few emails, but never actually hung out or anything. Another cousin is at Notre Dame right now. All that time in Goshen earlier this year (30 miles from south bend), I could have at least seen a friendly face on weekends once in awhile. Ah well. Price I pay for being caught up in my own little world I guess.

Everyone was uber-nice, though, it wasn't like anyone was not wanting us to be there, it was just odd for a bit trying to get the conversational ball rolling. Luckily we were saved by football (is there anything it can't do? you know, other than stop seeming so heterophobic?) and i even had a good talk with the UW cousin (and the one I always bonded best with anyway) It was nice, just stilted. But the food and the alcohol flowed freely (I don't think I'll ever be in a room with that many drunken family members again) and we had some nice moments, like me explaining Renaissance dentistry to uncle John, who is my family dentist, while he was still barely sober enough to comprehend what I was saying.

Everyone's getting old, though. Or older at least.

Last night was awesome too. Saw my good buddy billy for the first time in forever, and got to meet his awesome wife (as lena put it, you did good, billy). we all watched football with brian, who i also haven't seen in far too long, and surprise surprise, but dino drops by and I get to meet his girlfriend after missing her when i was in NYC. Add in the nice to see scooter again cause I never hung out with him enough when we both lived in town, the fact that I didn't burst into flames despite being in a room with 3 ministers at the same time and the pleasant news of a couple other old friends being around who i might hopefully get to see (provided they haven't decided that they just dont' want to talk to me anymore) and a royal ass kicking laid down by the pats, and it was a good night. Oh, and there was gayming, and it was fun. Settlers is actually fun enough to omit the "y" without feeling guilty about it. Suddenly leaving on new year's day seems entirely too soon. This is the kind of break I needed after the hellish autumn from hell with the hellish actors from hell and the hellish producer from hell.

And Paul, yes, I will concede that the lack of blood in narnia was one of the downsides, especially because Aslan admonishing peter to "always wipe your sword" was one of my favorite moments from the book. Yes, sometimes Disney tries too hard. They should just go back to suing preschools.

No, I won't ride bitch on a motorcycle, or any other position for that matter. I don't care at all for motorcycles, as I said. But I'll fake it if you pay me enough.

And yes, i do rock, mrflibble. So do you. how the hell are ya? If I move to the twin cities, can i rent a bedroom from you?

Ok, enough is enough. Time to go enjoy more vacating.

Ken


Today I strike out on my own
The dog is dead. The kids have grown
I fell asleep in my writing chair
I dreamt I'd found my childhood stare
To family dinner Christmas night
We'd cross the river shipyard lights
Before the heartbreak and unknown
Today I strike out on my own

Hi-diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time
diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time

The families gather but we're all
Mere Shadows in this Banquet Hall
I'm beggin mom will you understand
I'm beggin dad will you hold her hand
To Play outside was all I'd known
And Christmas lights on every home

Hi-diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time
diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time

We find the people of our dreams
We find that they're not what they seem
I've learned that people come and go
I've learned that families break and grow
Toy soldiers brave away those tears
Toy soldiers hope for better years
Today I strike out on my own
The dog is dead. We kids have grown.

Hi-diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time
diddely-o, didn't ya know? You fade once you glow.
Didn't ya know, child? After the rhyme, high time

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com