Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-01-03 - 10:53 p.m.

So my vacation time is over and I find myself back home and starting a new job.

It went very well today, thank you. Harley is a very laid back place to work and giving tours is silly easy.

Yes, the people are nice. it's all moms and retired old guys, so everyone loves to talk a lot, but they seem to have a good sense of humor.

I have really been hung up on the idea of a sense of humor lately. I dunno what it is, but I think i might be losing mine. I don't feel funny anymore, just squishy. And kinda moist, but that could just be from the shower.

I had this brilliant idea in the shower about something to write about here, but this time, in a totally boring twist, I'm not writing it down, only this time for a different reason. One thing I wanted to include in here was a list of all the places I've been this year (you'll see why) during the 7-8 months I was on the road. HOwever, that's just too damn much work tonight. The temp agency screwed up and told me to show up for my first day at 8, rather than the 9 i was supposed to, which doesn't seem like that great a difference until you consider that due to distance, i have to get up 2 hours beforei have to be at work. when you're feeling sleep deprived and struggling with insomnia of late, the difference between 6 and 7 is very acute. So I'm kinda tired, and I'd have to dig out all the schedules to remember all the places I've been. So that'll wait till later. Just know this. It was a fuckton. And i'm not gonna do something nice like put a cut in there so you don't have to read it, because A) I dont' care how inconvenient it is for you, you will read every last insignificant detail of my "life" (people are using those damn quotation marks in the weirdest places these days. Just today I saw a billboard that said "As "presented" by...." Wholly inappropriate. No wonder we're all retarded.

So anyway, that'll be around shortly, probably tomorrow, since i've got nothing else to do tomorrow afternoon.

Anyway, I already have a job interview at a different place that'll give me full time hours and...extra... bucks an hour. THat's next week. If they offer the job, i have a hard decision to make- semi-enjoyable job i can drift in and out of as the years wear on and the roles accumulate that doesn't actually pay me a living wage, or blow it for a couple months of security (but damn it's a lot of $ecurity)before i just quit that one too. Bah. When I said I had good work karma, it must have turned it against me. I'm experiencing the downside of the Midas touch right now, the one thatcomes when you have to go to the bathroom.

I had a lot of fun on new year's, and in the days leading up to it. It made me thoughtful, which is a refreshing change from thoughtless, except I don't like where some of my htoughts are going now. It's amazing how much some things can go right out the window when you have a question to ask that's wholly inappropriate.

Barb and her sister and I had a ton of fun getting wasted at a really crappy bar "I've never seen that much cleavage in one room in my life" and eating the first meal of '06 at Denny's at 3am. Yep, that's right, the old man can still tie one on and even stay up past 11 once in a great while. it's just that it's with increasing infrequency.I have made three resolutions for the new year.

1. Wear my hat more. it's a nice hat, and it was costly,but it was also a gift given under the assumption that i'd wear it, and it's now 4 years old and has more damage from dust and hanging than actual wearing. By god, i'm gonna let it wear itself out honestly, even if i have to go so far as to wear a trenchcoat all the time to go with it. (maybe i'll be the new Hans. speaking of which, i have got some serious questions of a different kind of wholly inappropriate, the kind I actually DON'T shy away from these days, to ask some other time.)

2. Travel less. Notso much the time away from home that gets to you, it's a different hotel room in a different city and 200 miles of driving between them every night that gets bothersome. If i could go to a place for a couple months andstay in the same bed that whole time, that'd be ok. it's the living out of a suitcase that gets to you. and you don't get nearly as many women as y ou'd think or hope you would, so the perks are severely limited. the only really nice one is that whole not ever having to clean up after yourself one, but of course I do anyway, cause I'm ocd.

3. Make a couple big decisions,a nd make the correct choices when I do.

Innocent: well, I hope your day tomorrow is full of hot women
SWTrilogy3: hot women?
Innocent: yes
Innocent: so that you might potentially get some
Innocent: cos it's always fun
SWTrilogy3: but what if they're not worthy
Innocent: worthy of...?
SWTrilogy3: the magic that is me

Don't steal music.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com