Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-02 - 12:47 p.m.

Yesterday in the middle of one of the shows, an autistic girl wandered up onto the stage to be part of the show. Wandered isn't necessarily the correct word, she pretty much bolted up there and hopped up on stage with me and Justin.

See, that doesn't really happen much in other jobs. It's one of those joys of live theatre that you really just can't capture anywhere else.
Performing for kids is great, for the msot part. I've had to master the art of signing autographs in crayon, and I've been asked "are you famous" and "Do you make a lot of money?" so many times that I can successfully curtail the impulse to giggle like a schoolgirl when I hear them.

I dunno where the hell I am right now. Middle of nowhere, Michigan. I know I'm only about 30 minutes drive from Toronto, if that helps any. Spending 4 nights in 4 different hotel rooms has brought one glaring fact of my physiology that I had forgotten about back to the forefront of my mind- I can't sleep in hotel rooms to save my life. I've been assured I'll get used to it as the time on the road mounts, but for now, I'm always going to remember the first week of the tour as the "I didnt' sleep at all l ast night" week from hell.
I'll be "home" in goshen friday night,a nd hopefully sometime that weekend I'll be able to give a nice long "rant from the road" update with a full selection of amusing stories about kids forgetting their lines (every show has student actors in it, too) or the time the stereo system blew out in the middle of the first scene and stuff like that. Something to look forward to!

For now, though, i've got another show in about half an hour, so I've got somethign i have to get out of my system before I see the kids again.

FUCK DAMN BITCH SHIT HELL!!!!

(I'm not mad, I've just been having to stifle the impulse to swear for so long it was beginning to feel like I was waiting for the movie to end before I got up to go to the bathroom. It just needed to be released, and now I feel better.)

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com