Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-24 - 5:37 p.m.

So I decided that I'd put a song in this entry. In particular, I wanted to sing "Jigsaw Girl" by the Toadies for you. It doesn't really have anything to do with anything, but it's a good song, and people should listen to more Toadies anyway. So I go to their website to look up the lyrics, as I can't remember them off the top of my head.

The Toadies are breaking up. Says so right on their website. Quick search of Dallas newspapers reveals that this is, in fact, the truth.

So, after hearing one of the best albums I've ever heard, I got to wait seven years for a follow up. Five months after that comes out, and is even better than the first one, there will be nothing else. Ever.

The news made such a perfect capstone to this week that I nearly cried. Then I nearly laughed. It's sort of like being eviscerated, then looking in a mirror and discovering that your hair is coming out in clumps, too. One of those periods that has you holding the knife and saying to yourself, "Remember, cut down the arm, not across."

Got cast in the play. I'm Pentheus, King of Thebes. Sizeable part, but I'm guessing the theatre critic will still manage to forget I'm even there, like they have all the other times.

I hate it when people tell me how I'm feeling. Not as much as I hate Black Berets, but still. It's irritating.

Do I drink too much? Yeah, probably, but what are you going to do about it? More importantly, why do you care?

There's a really good play by Samuel Beckett called "Act Without Words" about a man wandering through the desert. He's really thirsty, but he can't find his way home.

A whistle blows, and he looks up to see a glass of water dangling in the air over his head. He can't reach it, though. Another whistle blows, and a box drops down.

Even standing on the box, though, he can't reach the water. So another whistle blows, and a second box gets lowered. He stacks the boxes and climbs them. He still can't reach the water, and this time the stack falls over and he crashes to the ground.

Another whistle, another box. He stacks and climbs again, but just as he's about to reach the water, it's snatched up out of his reach. The stack topples and he hits the floor again.

Another whistle. THis time, a rope is lowered. He climbs it, slowly of course, because by now he's fallen a lot (I'm giving the really brief version here) and he's pretty banged up. He's almost to the top when the rope is let go, and he falls again. This time he doesn't get up.

Another whistle, but the guy doesn't even look in the direction of the water. He just lays there. He's obviously conscious because he's looking at his hands, but he won't even acknowledge the whistle or even get up. He just lays there.

Whistle again.

He just lays there.

Whistle again.

And he just lays there.

Blackout.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com