Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-18 - 10:34 p.m.

Wow. 81 is a big freakin' number. It doesn't seem like that many. Or course, I tend to block out the ones that suck, so to me it still feels like the 7th or 8th.

I had a funny story to tell yesterday while I was writing down the random clutter I had been pondering for the last couple weeks (which, by the way, was 100% effective. It was like I had swept out my brain cell...cell, singular. I figure only one actually fires...And all the clutter is out and I can forget about it and concentrate on other things.) but I was distracted in several ways while I was typing yesterday, and thus I missed a corner or two.

The story, short version, is this- I got asked out on Friday afternoon. No, seriously. I mean it...STOP LAUGHING!!!

Sorry, Ken, but that's just too funny. Who was she?

She used to work at the bookstore, and she still comes in all the time. And for some odd reason, she's always working at the drugstore when I go in to get snack-type objects for work.

Is she cute?

Dear heavens, no. She's about as far from "cute" on the attractiveness scale one can get without having to be ill at the sight of her.

Is she that ugly, Ken?

No, she's not ugly. She's not all that attractive, physically, but she's nothing to write home about. Her looks are pretty average, but she does manage to seem much uglier by having an unattractive personality.

Ah, she's one of those people who look much better when they're not talking?

Exactly, Ken. She's whiny and lazy and far too talkative. Patti warned me about her when she first came into the store.

But Ken, you're whiny and lazy and far too talkative, and people warn others about you all the time.

Exactly, Ken. And do you think I'd want to go out with someone whose exactly like me?

Point taken. How do you manage to attract girls in the first place, Ken?

I dunno, but whatever it is, I guess it's still spreading. People are still coming down with it.

What's her name?

I dunno. I wasn't paying attention when she introduced herself to me.

How old is she?

Umm....24-27, I think. Far enough older than me that "doing stuff" would be icky and wrong.

So what happened?

Well, she called the bookstore, and asked me if I was single.

You said no, right?

Of course I said no. Tammy will find her own reasons to dump me soon enough. I don't need to add "being an idiot cheating on her with a girl I don't even like, thus throwing away a really good relationship" to the list of charges she can bring against me.

Then she asked me if I had any single friends who might like to go to Riponfest with her. None sprang to mind. ALthough, in retrospect, i suppose I could set her up with Paul.

How are they supposed to contact each other, Ken? Paul has no phone.

See, Ken? I'm not the biggest loser in the world. Or even in RIpon.

But you are the biggest loser in the room right now, Ken.

I'm alone right now, Ken.

Yep.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com