Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-27 - 8:59 a.m.

"And now we come to my favorite part of the season, the cuts....listen there are a lot of cuts.. I didn't get to cut everybody I wanted to, but I've cut a lot of you. Why don't you just check the roster to see that you didn't make the cut."

And with that quotation, the word cut should lose all meaning, right about..now. Cut cut cut.

I'm kinda pissed. Seriously, I was cold when I woke up this morning. It's freaking august. What happened to the part where it was supposed to be summer around here? We got about 3 days of truly hot weather, a bunch of other days of people bitching about how hot it was when it really felt perfect outside, and now it's getting cold again, and it's darker when I wake up in the mornings. I think it's more like winter came to early and summer came too late. Stupid wisconsin.

This coming weekend represents the last hurrah of me doing anything completely voluntarily until christmas due to suddenly being n demand. Or at least, that's what I tell myself. I've got not one, not two, and not four but three shows lined up to keep me busy through thanksgiving now. Details will follow, but I will let you in on something that'll convince you that you do NEED to come see the first show, It's Only A Play, running at the Soustice THeatre 9-18 thru 9-21 and the 26th and 27th.

I have a musical number.

Let that sink it. It's not a musical, it's just a straight comedy that pokes fun at actors and the world of t heatre, but there is a part where my character sings a song, and for comedy's sake we're of course going to turn it into a big number, and by big number I mean me dancing around making an ass of myself (Who says acting is hard?)

So if you've ever wanted to see me dance around in a tuxedo carrying an umbrella, singing raindrops keep falling on my head at the top of my lungs while a woman accompanies me on one of those old toy xylophones with the multicolored metal chimes and the yellow plastic mallet....there you go.

Trust me, it'll make sense within the context of the show. It's not some kind of weird postmodern crap. I promise.

They are paying me to stay home today. Literally. Due to the holiday weekend, payroll had to have all their stuff done early this week, and my boss, being on the ball, went ahead and filled out the rest of my week on monday night, knowing i was taking some vacation time. But he put me down for being off today, even though that wasn't one of the days I had requested. I thought about it and realized that in order to correct the error, I would have to call him and specifically demand that I wanted to come in to work today and that the eight hours of vacation time should be put back in my time off...and then I realized that was crazy. Who wants to come in to work? I had the paid time off to spare. So staying home it is. And hopefully I can get a lot done.

Paul- "So the question you have is whether to stay home, or get paid..."
Me- "No, I will get paid either way."
Paul- "Damn you."

What am I hoping to accomplish today? Well, the odds are good that by the time you read this, I'll be gone. I fly into New York tonight as the first leg of what promises to be a fun and utterly exhausting vacation.
I hit NYC at about midnight tonight, then get to make my way to the hotel in Newark, where I'll stay a couple nights while I bum around in the big apple. Then friday I move to my other hotel in the bronx so i can be close to the airport when I leave and close to the reason for this trip, yankee stadium. See, I don't know how many of you follow baseball at all, but I do, and even though I don't particularly like the Yankees, this is Yankee Stadium. The house that Ruth built. Even renovated, it's one of the most important, historic places in the baseball universe.

And the bastards are tearing it down. Next year, the Yankee Stadium where Babe Ruth revolutionized baseball, where roger maris hit his 61st home run, where aaron boone hit a walk off home run in the bottom of the 11th inning of game 7 of the ALCS and blah blah blah, is going to be the parking lot of the new yankee stadium, all because some greedy asshole wants more luxury boxes.

For packer fans out there, it's the same as if they told you they were going to bulldoze lambeau field and build some new modern monstrosity in it's place. I don't understand why more people aren't pissed about this, but I didn't get to see a game in new york last time I was there, and since this is my last chance, apparently, it's time to make it happen.

So saturday I'll be watching the Rays/Yankees game from my sweet seat up the first base line, three rows back from the field. Paul and Brook are going to be in roughly the same area but many rows behind me. (ANd I paid less for my ticket than they did...this is why I win at life) and taking tons of pictures. I'll actually even cheer for the yankees, since i don't give a damn about either team, and you root root root for the home team and all that.

Then sunday I fly to denver to spend a couple days with family before coming back to milwaukee late tuesday night, and hauling my happy ass to work wednesday morning as per usual.

Come to think of it, maybe I should have taken next wednesday off instead. Oops.

Anyway, it promises to be a hella fun time. If you're near the new york area this weekend, get in touch...we'll have a drink.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com