Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-01-09 - 9:57 p.m.

Wow, and it was an important month too. Ah well. Nothing really all that interesting happened for most of december, just the same work crap everyone deals with at the day job (work sucks, bosses are morons, etc)

I thank you for your advice and your concern about my welfare. I realize that it's not the best idea, but I'd rather put it down the way I do and deal with the consequences of that (and I am aware of them. Like you said, I'm a smart guy) than to not do it at all. It's a choice. I'll deal with it. No one is more acutely aware of my faults than I am. It's half of what makes me me. I'm glad to know you're looking out for me, though.


"Be honest, even if some folks don't like you."

So i went home. That was an interesting trip. Katie, nate, 10000000000 apologies. I was so psyched about seeing you guys for the first time in years. Sorry I brought the shitty weather down with me. Next time. Next time. I'm worth waiting for, trust me (I haven't changed a bit.)

Shitty weather? oh yeah, for anyone not aware, it snowed while I was in Albuquerque. A lot. There was already a bunch of snow on the ground from the snowfall a week before christmas. Then it snowed roughly two feet in the 2 days leading up to new year's eve. The weather caused me to miss out on a lot of the things i wanted to do while i was in town. Missed some friends, didn't get my hair cut, didn't get my headshots done, no new years eve party. I did get to spend a lot of quality time with my mom, though, which was really nice. Sometimes I feel like we've drifted apart a bit, and I really wish I could spend more time with her. I love you mom.

Anyway, for anyone who believes that the weather these days isn't part of something we as humanity might have caused, i would like to point out that Albuquerque has gotten roughly 3 to 3.5 feet of snow this year. And that's to go along with the time during the fall when it rained every day for several weeks. Keep in mind, this is in an area of the country that averages 3 inches of precipitation a year.

I'll repeat that for emphasis. AVERAGES
3
INCHES
of precipitation

Per year.

That's rain, snow, dew, sleet, hail, and people spitting over the side of the hot air balloons during the balloon fiesta in october. And we've eclipsed that by at least 3 feet, not knowing how much rain fell during the fall. That's a difference of about 33 inches. That's not even close. Meanwhile, there is STILL no snow on the ground in milwaukee.

Meanwhile, a chunk of ice larger than manhattan broke off in the span of an hour up in the arctic. now tell me you don't think some shit is up. go on.

And in a truly Dillon-esque bit of luck, the fog on New year's eve kept me from going to see some aforementioned friends for their party. But....it lifted in time for me to still have to get up at 5:30 on new year's day to fly back to milwaukee. But the good news is that the flights were delayed long enough that I got to spend most of the day sitting in airports instead of getting back to the house by around 2 and having some time to unwind before i got to work again the next day.

Just so you know, losing you hasn't treated me well. getting over it would be nice, but it doesn't seem to be happening.

James spader is a god. just pointing that out.

No, I didn't make any new year's resolutions. The hell with all that. I've been nagging myself to do a lot of stuff for awhile now and it's not any more likely to happen because i promise myself while blasted on margaritas and rum and cokes than it was for the past 9 months, so what's the point?

I would like to keep in touch with people better. There's folks who are really important to me who i go for far too long a stretch of time without contacting. I think honestly it makes it all the sadder when I do (or in some cases, don't) talk to them or see them. it always feels like there's more to say. I think my problem is i always want to say something, not just hi. I don't like the idea (it took me four tries to type "idea" instead of "diea") of calling or writing without something interesting or important to say. So i always want to save up the things i have to say till they can fill out several pages or an hour or two worth of conversation, and because my life consists of long periods of monotony followed by spurts of all sorts of interesting things happening all at once, by the time i have anything worth saying it seems like it's been so long I wouldn't know where to begin or what i've already said before (for example, I wrote something very similar to this a few months ago).
I just hate saying goodbye, so I avoid it by never bothering to say hello. It's part of that lonesome drifter image I'm so in love with.
Am i getting lonely? that never happens. Huh.

Speaking of which, I was cast in another show at the boulevard (that's where Judas was, for those of you keeping score) and I'm even gonna be working with some of the same people from judas. I'll be appearing in Almost, Maine, which I believe opens on Valentine's Day. I got my script last week, when I saw Marion Bridge there (if you can get a seat, go see it this weekend. it's pretty good- RIGHT HERE, IN MILWAUKEE WISCONSIN!!!!

Cheap plugs and cheap pops. I wouldn't boo Mick Foley if you paid me to.

Anyway, Almost, Maine is a series of scenes, each involving a different set of characters, who all live in Almost, and they all take place on the same night, and they're all stories about love, some happy, some sad (on'es even called Sad and Glad). I'm (subject to change) in a couple of them. In one I play a drunk and despondent guy in a bar who bumps into his ex, tells her he misses her, and finds out she's there for her bachlorette party and she's getting married the next day (mark told us on the first day of Judas rehearsals that we were all cast to play ourselves) So now i have a valid reason for all the depressing stuff i listen to (and all the drinking)- i'm getting into character.

The other one? will require some effort on my part. Guess we'll see how versatile I can be. and that's all i'm gonna say. you wanna know what it is? come see it. I think we open on valentine's day, or at least i know there's a show that night (it being a love themed play and all) details will follow.

"great minds think alike"
"except we're not great minds"

so that's that. maybe i should try a new way to be annoying, one involving a lot of useless little messages and notes instead of always saving up for the big one.

"why don't you go back to your office? I'll have a pair of my pants sent over and you can try to get into them in your own time."

I'm still not liking this house. I lost power to my room and the washer and dryer for awhile till i accidentally figured out how to fix it. the funny part was that i called my uncle when it happened, and he wasn't home. then i stumbled ass backward into a solution (while restringing my extension cords to try to get my lamp and heater and alarm clock to, you know, get power, I hit the reset button on the outlet in my bathroom with it turns out is the mini-breaker for that part of the house. presto, everything works again) and of course, two hours later, my uncle calls back, and leaves me a voicemail with a nice detailed message explaining to me that one of the outlets in that part of the house might have a minibreaker on it and to look for something with a reset button on the outlet plate.
You know, woodworking, painting, even sewing are all tihngs i can handle nowadays thanks to all the time in the scene shops. Sawing, screwing, anything involving wood is cake. I even installed a toilet solo last year, despite never working with plumbing before. I've even done some work with stage lighting (not enough, apparently) but electircal wiring and all related stuff, including the inner workings of many electronic devices (my computer being the lone exception) are areas i realize i have woefully inadequate knowledge of. probably something I need to correct if we're gonna be here.

Billy, Tara- thank you guys so much for all the games of settlers. i had a ton of fun. you guys need to come visit milwaukee sometime. I'll hook y'all up. otherwise i hope to see you guys again soon. sooner than you think, even.


"I heard...we're going to new orleans. my penis is packed"

Denny Crane.

Ok, i'm done. Thanks for indulging me.

Ken

Call my friends to share some wine
To share some laughs, and last goodbyes
My photographs of these years
Will make me laugh through the tears

What are the odds, what are the odds?
This ends and we don't meet again
What are the odds, What are the odds?
That I will miss your smile

Take awhile! Take awhile! Take care and
Fly away and see the world
Take awhile! Take awhile! Take time and
If you need rest, I'll keep your nest
Changeless

Let fondness be our souvenir
To keep it warm, we'll keep it near
Otherwise with no heart to recall...
A memory's just a memory after all
I will not leave this pulse alone
Though it may take the long way home
I will not wait until the end
For my applause for you my friend

What are the odds, what are the odds?
This ends and we don't meet again
What are the odds, what are the odds?
This ends and we won't meet again
What are the odds, What are the odds?
That I have missed your smile

Take awhile! Take awhile! Take care and
Fly away and see the world
Take awhile! Take awhile! Take time and
If you need rest, I'll keep your nest
Changeless

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com