Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-11-19 - 11:58 p.m.

As autumn turns to winter
And half a moon moves across the sky
Every bar and cafe on this street
All seem haunted now to me
Just like every jukebox and every dance floor
And I bet you couldn't find
A single hotel doorway
That I haven't slept behind

And though I can't rewrite the past
Or change the things I've done
I might just catch the last train at the crossing
If I run

So pick me up, and take me down
Southbound train, southbound train
A hundred miles from here to Tucson
Might be far enough away
Might be far enough away

And it's happened once too often now
I never can recall their names
Finding myself plastered on a barstool
Between two of my old flames
I pretend that I don't remember
And they pretend that they don't care
And we stare straight ahead in silence
And wish that we weren't there

And though I can't rewrite the past
Or change the things I've done
I might just catch the last train at the crossing
If I run

So pick me up, and take me down
Southbound train, southbound train
A hundred miles from here to Tucson
Might be far enough away
Might be far enough away
I've seen about as many familar faces
As I can stand to see today
So pick me up, and take me down
Southbound train, southbound train

And when I get to Tucson
And find a place to stay
I'll drop a line so you can tell me
Just how glad you are that I'm away

And though I can't rewrite the past
Or change the things I've done
I might just catch the last train at the crossing
If I run

So pick me up, and take me down
Southbound train, southbound train
A hundred miles from here to Tucson
Might be far enough away
I've seen about as many familar faces
As I can stand to see today
So pick me up, and take me down
Southbound train, southbound train
Southbound train, southbound train

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com