Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-31 - 4:18 p.m.

So it's opening night. I gotta leave to get to the theatre in an hour or so.

Yes, the show does still suck, but no matter how bad it is, there's always that little thrill inherent in that last little bit of free time before it's go time. There's a meal to eat, a nap to take, this to finish, and I gotta remember to shave (although that's mostly just as a courtesy to the girl who's gotta kiss me- yep, i'm doing some smooching in this show. go me)

Yesterday was one of those semi-disastrous dress rehearsals that always signals that opening night will go well. Every prop or costume that could malfunction did, especially my champagne bottle. I have to uncork one in Act 2, after struggling with it for a bit, and it's supposed to shoot all over me (take that last sentence out of context, i dare you.) The bottle is filled with some kind of club soda that's supposed to fizz up for me. Last night it was too full though, and after i shook it up a bit, the cork just shot off all on it's own into the 3rd row of the audience.

I seem to have that problem a lot....maybe that's why i'm troubled of late.

Anyway, it was all we could do to stay in character, and of course some peoples focus was entirely shot, because we struggled mightily with lines for the rest of the scene. Hopefully that means we've gotten it out of our systems.

Either that or this play is going to be a massive disaster, but either way, hardly anyone is coming anyway, so it won't matter. I got my picture in the paper, i'm doing a "real" show again for the first time in a long time, and iw as able to make it through without killing anyone in the cast, or, more importantly, losing my temper with the director, so now i can rely on him for references and contacts and roles with his professional company.

All that's left is to struggle through 4 performances and then I can go back to getting enough sleep and not spending 5 hours a day running around from one end of milwaukee to the other.

And of course, i've been feeling sick for the last couple days. Because it wouldn't be right if i felt 100% mentally, emotionally, OR physcially for this.

Heh- I remember during school for scandal i got horrendously sick. LIke, 101 temperature kind of sick, and after i struggled through that show, bob comes up to me and goes "You've never seemed as much like an old man as you did out there. that was the best you've done this show" he was joking, but only half-way.

I have other things to talk about, like formal and awkwardness and the funny thing that happened to me on the way to the Miller Brewery on wednesday, but i don't wanna lose focus here. Right now I'm gonna get ready to go practice what Plato called the generosity of spirit that comes from the public performance of sharing something you've worked hard on in private. Or, in my case, mailed in in private. But i've always needed a proper audience to motivate me to be all i can be anyway.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com