Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-02-19 - 7:58 p.m.

No, I didn't die. I just haven't been writing lately. But now I am, so you have no cause to complain anymore (actually, you might, but it'd be about something else, and thus something I don't give a damn about. Not that I really give that much of a damn about this. half a damn, more likely)

Memphis had some ups and downs. I think that the experience of auditioning in front of 95 people who all had the power to hire me (on a stage Elvis performed on, no less) was definitely good for me in the long run. I don't think I've EVER been that nervous, and that includes opening nights for No Exit and Greater Tuna.
And I've learned a few key things, in terms of practicality. Number one is that I'm gonna have to learn to sing, and there's really no way around it anymore. yeah, I hate musicals with a passion, but there's only 2 types of theatre that really make money (and thus hire people to act for them) and the big one is musical theatre. Of the 95 producers, almost 70 represented theatres that were looking for singer/actors, so not singing really only gave me a chance at 1/3 of the theatres there, of which most were more touring children's theatres (which are the other money maker, though not on the same scale) Otherwise it was only a couple repertory companies, one renaissance faire (yep) and a couple historic dramas. Oh, and 2 christian theatres, neither of whom appreciated my monologue in which a minister rants about exploiting nuclear war to stop the teaching of evolution and kurt vonnegut. So, of course, all my callbacks were from children's theatres.
THe good was that one of the theatres, the hampstead playhouse, is one that i'd really like to work at. Here's hoping.

Memphis itself was cool. I wouldn't mind getting more time there to explore things the next time I go, which is likely to be this time next year. The hotel was something of a hole, especially for the cost, but the flight was good. NWA gave a nice discount to the actors flying there.

So basically, you flew N-W-A to T-N, eh? (that one's for brook)

Madison auditions were last weekend, something of a vacation after memphis. i had fun with that one. People laughed a lot at the aforementioned preacher monologue, and I just enjoyed myself immensely seeing folks (who know who they are and thus i don't need to mention them. HA!) in madison. And I've been invited to discuss working for six flags this summer, but htat probably ain't gonna happen.

Sandy- Didn't your mother ever teach you that if you can't say anything nice, you shouldn't say anything at all?

Me- No, my mother taught me that if I can't say anything nice, I'd damn well better make it funny.

Coretta Scott King died, and her funeral provided a wonderful counterpoint to that absolute travesty that was the State of the Union address. Watching all those people who would never in a million years have voted for Dubya either time find ways to simultaneously eulogize Mrs. King and absolutely blast away at Dubya and his evil ways while he had to jsut sit there and take it was almost cathartic. The only way it would have been better wold have been to just keep the camera on Evil Fuck the whole time and watch him squirm. I've never before been as into anything that Jimmy Carter had to say. And yeah, on the one hand it was distasteful of those people to be using a woman's funeral as a vehicle for political attacking/rallying, but I truly believe that A) Mrs. King would have been ok with that, cliched as it sounds, because she spent her entire adult life campaigning for human rights anyway, and since Dubya is as far removed from human rights as I am from being a playgirl centerfold (Hi mom!), i'm almost surprised her ghost didn't rise up and bitch-slap the Evil Fuck soundly before moving off this mortal coil. And B) it damn well wasn't the most distasteful thing that's ever happened to her anyway. At least no one was, you know, throwing rocks at her, or calling her a filthy nigger whore just because she had the audacity to try to put an end to some very bad things, or, you know, the government assassinating her husband because he was trying to do the same thing. So download some video of the eulogies, sit back, and enjoy the fireworks.

Oh, and I will admit that I was wrong. Ray Nagin is a tool.

"we're married"
"well, maybe here, but not back in the US, where God pays attention"

Dick Cheney shot a guy. The Vice-president of the most powerful (at least until they finish running it into the ground) country in the world accidently shot someone.

....

words completely fail me.

If i see one more of those stupid johari windows, I'm gonna punch someone in the face. that's all i have to say about that. or better yet, i'm gonna hasselcrotch someone. I'll do it, I swear I will.

KC- "Then I look at you and I think, this is a man who folds his underwear."

hmmm...i'm running out of steam already. I hate it when I forget a good idea. I've completely peytoned this. Remember when I talked about how i was gonna make some big decisions and make the right ones this year? No? yeah, i probably wouldn't either, usually, but it's there, someplace. Around new year's. Decision time is approaching.

"Fuck you asswipe!!! Not all klansmen wear robes and hoods. Some achieve a means to an end, a new order, that has been lost to a glorius past by pieces of shit!

from Alan Ritenour"

-swtrilogy.signmyguestbook.com

At first I thought that this was someone like jharick just having fun with me, especially since the return email address isn't real, but i'm not so sure. I first got this while I was in memphis and I had to read it again later in the day to make sure it wasn't just my sleep addled haze turning tricks on me. i hope it's a joke, anyway.

I didn't really have anything particularly profound to say about it, though maybe if i hadn't let it get two weeks old first... It's just Something That Happened.

Lena- "Have you been watching the olympics?"
Me- "No, I hate the olympics, but i have been hearing about them on espn and such. I did take the time out of my busy day the other day to go to Bode Miller's website and flame him for being an idiot."


ANd yes, I did flame him. I'm just sick of seeing him all the damn time. It wasn't nice, but neither am I.

And with that I go back to other projects.

Ken

Go 'way from my window,
Leave at your own chosen speed.
I'm not the one you want, babe,
I'm not the one you need.
You say you're lookin' for someone
Never weak but always strong,
To protect you an' defend you
Whether you are right or wrong,
Someone to open each and every door,
But it ain't me, babe,
No, no, no, it ain't me, babe,
It ain't me you're lookin' for, babe.

Go lightly from the ledge, babe,
Go lightly on the ground.
I'm not the one you want, babe,
I will only let you down.
You say you're lookin' for someone
Who will promise never to part,
Someone to close his eyes for you,
Someone to close his heart,
Someone who will die for you an' more,
But it ain't me, babe,
No, no, no, it ain't me, babe,
It ain't me you're lookin' for, babe.

Go melt back into the night, babe,
Everything inside is made of stone.
There's nothing in here moving
An' anyway I'm not alone.
You say you're looking for someone
Who'll pick you up each time you fall,
To gather flowers constantly
An' to come each time you call,
A lover for your life an' nothing more,
But it ain't me, babe,
No, no, no, it ain't me, babe,
It ain't me you're lookin' for, babe.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com