Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-09 - 10:06 p.m.

I didn't almost kill myself this last weekend like I did the one before, but I did discover on Friday that I'd turned into my mother. Not in the "Freaky Friday" sense of turning into my mother. That would really suck (love you mom, but i don't wanna be you, not even for a day) No, this happened while i was doing my laundry. I pulled my fleece out of the wash and a bunch of white crap was all over it. And all over my other laundry. And all over the inside of the washer.

I left some kleenex in my fleece pocket when I washed it. The only person I know who does that is my mom. And amanda, but that's cel phones...

So I'm my mom, at least in laundry terms.

I started back at my old job again yesterday. Photocopies abounded, and people were really glad to see me. Seems the office really fell apart when i wasn't around. Imagine that. Seems that's what happens when you leave a bunch of idiots behind. Rose, my replacement, was so happy that i'd be coming back that she just gave me a huge hug when i came in. Seems thatshe's about 4 days behind on the work that has to be done because loriann, in typical loriann fashion, does absolutely nothing all day. Why she hasn't been fired yet is beyond me.

I'm not going to CLIMB in the fall. Turns out the asshole they had casting the theatre for the next season (The guy who quit int he middle of the year) actually did finish casting before he left. He was just lying to everyone when he said he'd be in touch with us all to let us know one way or the other.
In a way, I'm not too disappointed, because I kinda figured that was the case (or at least, I had already gotten into that mindset because that's the assumption i make when i don't hear about an audition for a good long while) But I'm still kinda irked. Mike (if anyone wants to punch him in the mouth I'll tell you his last name and where he lives) told us multiple times in multiple mediums that he'd be in touch with us all, which he didn't have to do. It's customary to just not call the people you dont' cast. So that struck me as being interesting and uniqe. But then he didn't. He lied. I suppose I shouldn't be too surprised to learn that someone working in theatre is a lying cocksucker, but this guy really fooled me into thinking he was a nice, straightforward, no bullshit director. I was actually looking forward to working with someone like that in a theatre (lord knows it'd be the first time)
Sigh.

Oh well.

Now that i've got the angry/sad/self-pity part out of the way, it's time to make you all angry! And still tie this into both soulcrushing jobs and auditions!

I'm auditioning for Milwaukee Talk Star. It's an American Idol-esque competition to determine the next WISN morning talk show host. 20 will be selected to start competing on-air. The winner will get a 2 year, $50K per year contract to do a morning show with WISN. THis could rule. Saturday is the pre-screening, and i think i have a good chance. All they're looking for is a good voice (I have that, as you all know, and those who have never heard me talk are seriously deprived. I love the sound of my voice almost as much as I love my hair....And you will too!) and for someone who cna show that they can be interesting, or at least make things sound interesting. I should be all good, if i can figure out what to talk about.

Sounds too good to be true, doesn't it? Well, it is! WISN is owned BY CLEAR CHANNEL!!! YAY!!!!!

They're even still proudly advertising that they air Mark Belling, the Rush Limbaugh wanna-be who and loudly used the term wetback over the open airwaves back in the fall, prompting a huge pile of shit to hit the fan over at WISN. BElling was suspended for a time, but is back on the air, and with the full support of WISN and clear channel.

LatelyClear channel has been looking to diversify their lineups across teh country towards more of a mixed bag and less of their ultra-neoconservatism. Which is the only thing that works in my favor, cause if they're looking for the next Sean Hannity, I'm done before I begin. I dunno if i'd label myself a "liberal talk show host" as much as a "Nihilistic asshole." I'm just gonna be me, and do the world according ot ken, and hope that that works out.

You all will vote for me, right?

Ken

Love endures, it clings away
When asked to leave, it begs to stay
Like the perfect song, at imperfect times
It's the way the chords struck with the rhymes
So let your troubles roll by...

He knows he can help himself
He can tell by a look at the books on his shelf

And someone, somewhere loses her son
Before her own sunset is said and done

And she dreams of sunflowers bent-over
Frozen in snow, and thinks 'Colorado.. ?'
But then plays her life back in slow motion
To keep in touch with that raw emotion
In the night, crushed empty can
Olive Oyle is waiting for her man
To come in from the fight
That will change their life
'For good this time...'

When all of your tears dry, let your troubles roll by

Like New Year's Eve, tonight's underway
But tomorrow you'll wake up afraid of the day
'Cause underneath the scars of your broken dreams
An undone war still wages and stings
You fear the year will blow
Like a breeze through a rainbow
You swear it's there, but you can't grab a hold
So you sit and cry and wonder why, why...

When all of your tears dry, let your troubles roll by

So many cities and windows and lives
And through each one there's a soul that strives to survive
So pay no mind, my sorrow's fine
The day is a live and that's why I cry
It's a New Year's toast, grab your list to conspire
The last snake hissed as he was thrown in the fire
You've come far, and though you're far from the end
You don't mind where you are, cause you know where you've been

Like a culture vulture sprawled out on the floor
Like a dead devil soldier washed up on the shore
With nothing of note but the ole' Capt.'s coat
And a burning boat you just sank with your salty tears...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com