Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-18 - 5:15 p.m.

And in capping off what has been a truly bad week for me, I returned to Goshen this afternoon to discover that I've been evicted from my house. As I was pulling into the driveway of the place at which I was renting a room, I got a call from the Bridgework Office.

"Ken, do you have a minute?"

"Sure."

"You've been kicked out of Kellie's house. Her ex-husband has a big problem with you living there."

"Why?"

"Because of Kellie's 16 year old daughter. The ex threatened kellie with legal action if she continued to let you live there. He just doesn't trust that nothing inappropriate will happen."

"Yeah, cause it's not like I work with children on a daily basis now..."

Great. In all honesty, it's a reasonable fear, I suppose, except for the aforementioned working with children. Bridgework runs extensive background checks on everyone they hire, for obvious ass-covering reasons. And kellie and her daughter were both perfectly comfortable with me living there. I've never met or spoken to the ex-husband. I didn't answer the phone at their house, even though he calls roughly a dozen times a day. Whatever. Frankly, I confess I was surprised at the housing arrangement I was given. I would have thought they'd put one of the girls in Kellie's house, given the circumstances, which leads me to my biggest beef with this whole thing-

If this was gonna be an issue, why the hell did they put me there in the first place? If there was even a half a doubt that everyone was gonna be cool with this arrangement, why did the theatre assign me there, and why did Kellie agree to take me? If they'd thought th is through a little more, I could have gone somewhere else,a nd I could now be relaxing in a room I know is mine for the semester instead of sitting here waiting to figure out what my "emergency housing" is gonna be this weekend before I go out on the road again on Sunday and get to spend the week wondering when they'll find permanent housing for me to go back to on weekends.

This sucks. In all honesty, the job itself is fun. I enjoy the kids (even the annoying ones) and the shows (even though they suck) and the people I work with (even though they annoy me) but the logistics blow. Crap like this is teh reason actors don't wanna do children's theatre, not cause being on the road is hard.

Next time I update, I promise good news, or at least something not whiny, but this has been a truly shitty week for me, and I'm gonna go pout now.

Ken

P.S.- Thanks for the heads up, Dumbass. I'll remember that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com