Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-25 - 6:13 p.m.

Last night I dreamt that Brook and I moved into a new apartment, either in downtown Milwaukee, or somewhere in NY. The place was built on top of a theatre that was still in use. Beautiful studio place, hardwood floors, white metal rafters, the ceiling 40 feet above the floor level, an architectural structure approaching the impossiblity of an Escher drawing.

Our bedrooms were next to each other, down one hall, and in each one were several hundred pairs of womens shoes and old dresses. The landlord told us that the woman who had previously inhabited the place had left all her stuff behind, and we had to clean it out to live there. My bedroom was of a normal size, with a split level in the room creating a nice little alcove in front of the window. Very cool. Next door to my room was the bathroom, with a Galaga arcade machine located next to the bathroom, for while you're waiting when someone else is in there. There was also a coke machine and a snack machine on the opposite wall next to the windows.

The main room of the apartment (like I said, it's a studio) was about 50'x150'. Big ass rectangle. At the opposite end from the front door was a hallway. To the right was a long, winding spiral metal staircase, leading down to the "basement"- a room appromixately the size and shape of storzer gym in ripon, with several hundred plastic tubs in it, also containing piles and piles of the aforementioned women's shoes and dresses and reminding me a lot of the basement level costume shops in any theatre i've ever worked at. The metal staircase was almost exactly like the ones you see leading up from the stage to the catwalks.

To the left on the hallway is the kitchen, a beautiful white tiled room with a linoleum floor and wooden countertops. A doorway next to the refridgerator opens out to a grand staircase, leading down one flight and turning left and opening onto the audience of the theatre, a blackbox area that could not possibly function as a performance space in real life, yet a show was rehearsing anyway. Going down to the foot of the stairs offered a clear view of the stage while a show was going on. I was excited at the possibility of being able to go down the stairs from my kitchen to see a play.

That night we had a housewarming party. I went down to the theatre and invited Sabina, a girl I BARELY knew back in high school, who just happened to be working on a show downstairs. There were a couple other people with her that the me in this dream vaguely remembered going to high school with, but even as I dreamed that this was an impromptu reunion, I realized that these people were faceless and that Sabina was the only "real" person I knew.

Wej, in his genius, had gotten ahold of my address book and invited everyone in it to come down for the housewarming event. Many brought "guests" I didn't know, and before long a couple hundred people were hanging at our place, which was began to bear an ever increasing resemblence to any of the buildings I've ever been to a rave in. Everyone loved the place and was having a great time, but I was a little preoccupied with the worry that someone was gonna start trashing stuff to truly relax.

Until my friend Shannon from the bus stop arrived. She hopped up on the kitchen counter, hugged me, gave me a kiss on the earlobe, and began chatting with me like she's known me all my life.

Then I woke up. People wonder why I never sleep really late, no matter how late I go to bed, and why I wake up frequently throughout the night and never sleep very deeply. Dreams like this are a big part of the reason why, I think.

Now I wonder what all this means, in the interpretation of dreams?

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com