Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-12 - 11:28 p.m.

You know what's really cool? When someone you don't like has a bad day, but it has nothing to do whatsoever with you, because you haven't even seen or spoken to them at all in the last couple days. Then you find out that they're unhappy and crying in their room, and you don't even have to pretend to feel bad because you know you didn't do it. That's cool.

You're a vengeful little SOB, Ken.

I know, but what are you gonna do?

There's a lot of stuff I'd been wanting to write about for awhile now, but it seems like by the time I get my thoughts organized for one thing, something else that seems like it would be better to write about comes along. For example, the whole Halliburton deal from a couple weeks ago would have warranted an entire entry all on it's own, but by the time I got over the feeling of outrage and resolved to withdraw all my money from the bank and invest it in Halliburton, other things had come along.

Last night my career came to an end, not with a bang, but with a whimper.

No, literally- the show is really sad, like the kind of thing you'd see on Lifetime, and people were in fact crying during the final scene. Apparently (and I wouldn't know this, not being a parent), the idea of your newborn needing surgery to fix a life-threatening heart condition before it's even a year old is one that hits home hard for anyone with children.

I made a lot of my friends cry. I did well, in what is probably the most sympathetic role I've ever played, and even though it's not a show I'd have chosen to be in on my own (I only auditioned for it cause i was asked to) it was a good experience and a great way to go out.

Kind of a bittersweet feeling the whole day. I was worried I'd fuck up somehow, because I was distracted from the moment i arrived at the theatre. Hell, I forgot to put powder on my makeup until it was almost too late.

Jon and Jharick also did really well in their show. Mad props to my homies for that one.

Last night, I made two dates in short order, then had them both broken on me in equally short order. Oh well. It's all good. I still got pretty drunk, just like the night before that, and the night before that. I also got high each night. It was fun. Thank God for John Bremer, is all I have to say.

And now to end this on a downer.

"Uncle" Useless (as he came to be called when we got more cats) was an ordinary orange and white tabby cat born sometime in March of 1988. He came to live with the Dillon family shortly thereafter when they found him trapped in a window well. Over the next 15 years, he had many misadventures (getting trapped in the ventilation ducts for two months, getting his head pecked in by an angry bluejay) and used up pretty much all of his nine lives. Useless was a close companion of my dad's in the last few years of his life. In late November of 2002, Useless was diagnosed with kidney failure, and on April 6, 2003, Useless was struck by a car in front of his home. His ashes have been interned with Dad at Santa Fe National Cemetery, where I know Useless is pissed, because he's also with two of the disgusting dogs he despised so much during his lifetime. And with his luck, the way the ashes are arranged will result in Useless spending eternity having his ass sniffed by a dog.

Bye Useless.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com