Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-19 - 1:15 p.m.

My chest really hurts. On Monday night, during our basketball game, we were routing the other team by about 12 points with less than a minute to go. We get the ball, and I'm able to slip past all the defenders and get all alone right by the basket. I look to try to catch Cole's eye, but he doesn't see me, or so I think, so I look elsewhere. Then I hear my name being called, and I look up in time for the ball to slam into my chest full force from across the court. Turns out Cole was pretending not to see me in order to fake out the other team. He did such a good job of it, I was fooled, too.

It hurt, but it was pretty funny. I laughed. Our team laughed. The other team laughed. The refs laughed. Wej is still laughing, but after I cock-punch him, he won't find it so funny.

And you know what I did after the basketball game?

I came back to the lounge and played a silly card game.

EVERYONE can go to hell!

Sometimes I become tempted to list individual people off and name all their bad points, one by one. I think that might be fun. But then I hold off, because it's like having one nuclear weapon. I'm North Korea. I could make one big blast, but the fallout and retaliation would be such that I would have to make sure it was the last thing I ever did in regards to on-line thought sharing. Cut and run...

Still, it'd really liven things up around here for a while.

So I got a callback from the Bridgework Theatre in Indiana, which is a touring children's theatre. Not a bad job. The Milwaukee Rep guy asked me a disturbing number of questions about my experience in stage combat and other such areas, and he seemed really positive about my audition, so that's always hopeful. And it turns out there may be a summer job with me at the St. Croix Valley summer festival. If they all fall through, or even two of the three, I would essentially be able to start work right after graduation and stay that way until at least May of 04.

See, we started with one topic, moved smoothly into another, but then there was a jarring transition into the next topic. Sometimes it doesn't all flow like cold beer down your gullet.

"It's technically gone downhill, but it's showing a lot more fire and less timidity than it used to."

I've noticed that that describes a lot of things.

Jon is an asshole, regardless of what he might think or want the rest of us to believe of him. There's nothing inherently wrong with that (hell, if I thought being an asshole was a bad thing, I'd have had to kill myself years ago.) and I actually find myself having more love and respect for Asshole Jon (most of the time) then I did for the big-haired, supernice, timid Jon who spent the first year or so of our acquaintance thinking I didn't like him.

My only point is that it's important that we not let Jon labor under the delusion that he is an essentially nice guy anymore. He has moments of nicety, but it's not the core of his being.

To that end, I've decided that it's important to inform him at every avenue, so I encourage you all to write to [email protected] and show your support for this burgeoning new movement. It's far more important than any peace rally or hydrogen car. The future of the world hinges on Jon's acceptance of his true role in our society today.

The Pimp Section-

Warren had a good weekend and calls us all monkeys at lunardwarf.diaryland.com. He's also Slackware Linux, whatever the fuck that means.

Viola apparently had a good weekend, too. (Coincidence? I dunno) but hers comes complete with steamy details, including her long and unabating crush on a cast member of CSI. WHich one is it? You'll have to check out mavin.diaryland.com to find out.

Yeah, I know what I've done, and no, I'm not going to pull a Jay Leno anytime soon.

I'll leave you with a song...

The Night Hank Williams Came to Town by Johnny Cash...

Harry Truman was our president

A coke an burger cost you thirty cents

I was still in love with Mavis Brown

On the night Hank Williams came to town.

"I Love Lucy" debuted on TV

That was one big event we didn't see

'Cause no one stayed at home for miles around

It was the night Hank Williams came to town.

Mama ironed my shirt and daddy let me take the truck

I drove on out to Grapevine and picked old Mavis up

We hit that county line for one quick round

On the night HANK WILLIAMS came to town.

A thousand people sweltered in the gym

Then I heard someone whisper; "Hey, that's him"

That's when the crowd let out this deafening sound

It was the night Hank Williams came to town.

On and on he sang into the night

'Jambalaya', 'Cheatin' heart', 'I saw the light'

How'd they get Miss Audrey in that gown

On the night Hank Williams came to town.

Mavis had her picture made with Hank outside his car

She said; "He sure is humble for a Grand Ole Opry Star."

Mavis said: "Why don't we hang around

It ain't often that Hank Williams comes to town."

While Hank signed his autograph on Beaulah Rice's fan

Mavis got acquainted with the Driftin' Cowboys Band

The effect on all our lives was quite profound

On the night Hank Williams came to town.

Radio announcer's voice in the background:

Remember, friends and neighbors, Hank Williams and all the Drifting

Cowboys will be at the high school gym in person for one show only

this Saturday night. The big 2 hour show starts at 7:30 - tickets are

just a dollar-fifty each; you get your money's worth the first 15 minutes

and the rest is free. That's Saturday night - advance tickets are on sale

now at Renfrow's Drugstore, Do-Nut Heaven and here at the radio station.

Hank Williams - all the Drifting Cowboys, Don Helms, Jerry Rivers

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com