Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-25 - 7:49 a.m.

So we have a new cat at my New Mexico home. Her name is Monkey, and she's only about six or so weeks old. My sister found her in a parking lot, where she had apparently been thrown out of a moving car or something, because she has a massive scrape on the underside of her lower jaw. All the skin's been torn off, leaving a scab and exposed muscle and bone tissue with necrotic skin coming hanging in a ball on one side of the jaw.

Yeah, I know, that's pretty gross. She smells awful, too, like decay, and her fur has come off in clumps all over her tiny little body, but other than that, she's just so cute. She's actually one of those cats that so ugly that it's cute. (come to think of it, babies are often that way too.)

It amazes me that no one would want this kitten, and especially not want it enough to simply toss it out of the car while driving rather than try to do anything else with it. I mean, damn.

But we found her, and now she's ours, and she's cute and a lot of fun to play with. And I love the cat very much because she rewarded my sister's kindness to her (the cat) by giving her (my sister) ringworm.

ON HER FACE!!!

Yeah, my sister is sitting at home right now with ringworm all over her face, watching the Friends Season 2 box set that I got her for Christmas. (Easier to give it to her now and not have to deal with her at all come December)

I have unfortunate news on the Cletus front, though. Not only did Animal Control not do anything (apparently they have no law enforcement power in New Mexico or some crap like that, and since Cletus isn't illegally breeding or fighting dogs or anything of that sort, the cops won't bother) So he's getting away totally unpunished, but the MOTHERFUCKER GOT A FUCKING PUPPY!

I think Wej was right. Next time I go home, you should just come with me, dude, and we can just cap this motherfucker. Or just feed him to his dogs. That'd be fun.

The funeral was an interesting time. Lots of fun and happy memories were shared. My mom told the story of how she and my dad met, which is fucking hilarious, and maybe one day when I have more time, I'll share it with you SOB's. Maybe I'll relate what I said, too. Then we closed with Amazing Grace sung in the Sioux language, which is a really awesome song.

Then we had a traditional Irish wake (Dad was Indian with Irish step-parentage, so I'll give you one guess what activity the wake consisted of.)

We drank until the last guest decided he couldn't go anymore and took off, which was around 2:30am or so. (not bad for a wake that started at 6pm.)

A good time was had by all. I met my sister Carol Lee for the first time that day (which wasn't actually a good time cause she turned out to be a dumb bitch, but oh well, fuck her. I can go another twenty years without seeing her again, and I won't be losing anything, especially since little Ms. AA fell off the wagon hard-core at the wake. Oops. Looks like somebody has to start her count all over at 1 day without a drink.) Members of my dad's family thought that a service celebrating a life and telling happy stories and memories was in poor taste, until it was gently but firmly pointed out to them that it's what the deceased would have wanted, instead of a weepy "funeral" and they might have known that if they had been in touch with the deceased more than, say, three or four times over the last 25 years, so essentially they have no idea what they're talking about and should shut the fuck up.

Well, maybe a little more gently than that, but I wasn't the one doing the talking.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com