Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-04 - 4:17 p.m.

Sometimes in life, we're called upon to accept certain truths that we would rather not have to confront (i.e., the fact that for all the cool crap he's done in his career, Jeff Hardy is clearly a flaming homosexual and that's how his career will be remembered forever. Personally, I can deal with that, though I'd rather people think TLC when his name comes up, rather than B+D.), and the mark of those of us who will be able to handle all that life throws at us is that we can unflinchingly accept these truths, even if we don't like them.

For instance, we must all come to terms with the fact that, frankly, classic 80's cartoons like He-Man and Transformers really blew, and that the only reason we love them so dearly (and that includes me, I worship both those shows) is because we used to think they were so cool. There's nothing wrong with that, but we should stop lying to ourselves that this newfound wave of popularity on the parts of those shows is due to anything other than pure nostalgia. (As an aside, isn't it cool to think about the upcoming wave of nostalgia that will hit ten or so years from now, as people start to go nuts over toys that used to be popular in the 90's? At least the 80's toys were good, even if the shows sucked.)

That last paragraph hurt me as much as it hurt you, trust me.

The sad fact is that Larry McMurtry's "Lonesome Dove" is one of the greatest novels ever written (and the prequels are suprisingly readable. Boy, am I getting paid by the parenthetical for this entry, or what?), even if it was written by the same guy who wrote "Terms of Endearment", which, for anyone who is curious, sucked ass. If you thought "Terms of Endearment" was good, you're wrong. I know, I wouldn't want anything else by Mr. McMurtry to be any good after that other tripe, but it happens, as painful as it may be. We're just not rooting for him. Just like Dubya. No one even wants him to do anything good or worthwhile during his time in office, just because it would pain us greatly to have to admit it if he did do something right. (not like there's a great risk of that ever happening, but still) So we'd all rather he just fuck up for another two years and draw this mercifully to a close.

The sad truth is that all those of you out there who purchase gold memberships to diaryland really need to think long and hard about getting a better hobby, or at least being smarter about this one. I'm sure you're all cool, worthwhile people, but common sense would dictate that it's ridiculous to spend $20-$40 a year unnecessarily just so you can have banners and your picture on your profile (like anyone does or should care what you look like.) Your words are what we're here for, and everything else is just fairypoofystupidegomasturbation, which, by the way, you can do plenty of without spending that precious cash that could be used on something infinitely greater- Beer. Hell, for a six-pack of decent beer, I'll pimp your friggin' diaries on my own.

Now there's an idea. Okay folks- anyone giving me a six-pack of decent beer or a case of shitty beer (Like MGD or Milwaukee's Beast) gets a one-year endorsement deal from me, wherein I list your diary on my favorites list, say nice things about it in my comments, pimp it in every entry I make in my own diary that year, and even occasionally talk about what you said in your diary and encourage others to read it. Anyone interested, you know how to get in contact with me.

Selling out rules.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com