Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-12-19 - 2:31 p.m.

I hate Spanish computers. All the keys are in the wrong place. I may decide that I have to forego little crap like capitalization in this one. Salutations to all the new readership I�ve been told I may or may not have picked up in the last few weeks, especially Ripon�s finest. Keep reaching for that rainbow, guys!

The plane didn't crash or anything like that. I�m here. I've met our new cat, Molly, or AlphaBitch, as the family has taken to calling her. She seems like such a sweet little thing, but ever since she arrived, she�s beaten the living hell out of the other two cats that were there and taken all their food. The other cats are scared to even be in the same house with her. But she�s still cuddly and affectionate to the humans, acting like she�s done nothing wrong.

Isn't that just like a woman? (It took me about two minutes to find the question mark on this damn keyboard.)

Wolves have alpha males. We have an AlphaBitch.

So Janice is still out of town and will be until Saturday. Brian is in Tennessee for some ungodly reason until Friday. Lori is who knows where. Lena hasn�t returned my phone calls. Hmmm...four of the five friends from high school I�d actually want to get in touch with are unavailable. Makes for a lot of sitting around my house.

I wish I hadn�t packed in such a hurry. I forgot a lot of stuff. The one thing I miss the most, though, would have to be my sunglasses. Even in winter. I�d forgotten how bright the sun is up here. Makes for a lot of squinting.

I am invincible. That�s just all there is to it. The events of the last week of school have made me realize that, as the lady from the Weekly World News put it, humans are shallow and are easily placated. Once you realize you�re smarter than everyone else, you can get away with anything. Just make sure to apologize afterward and nothing bad will come of it.

Thursday night was fun. I finished all my crap for all my finals, then Bremer and I went to the bar. Bumped into Joe and Jasser and Eric, and the five of us spent the whole night just drinking beer and playing darts, until closing time. Now that�s what every night should be like. Except without the hangover part. Then I went home and dyed all the hair above my neck purple. Brenda and Jon watched me. I dyed my hair. My eyebrows. My goatee. They wouldn�t let me try to dye my eyelashes, but I�m pretty convinced that I could have done it. WOuld have looked neat, too.

At the bar, there was rodeo on TV. The bronco event. Just like my dad used to do. It made me think of his stories of guys being severely broken riding the broncs. Not many people realize this, but bronco riding is actually more dangerous than bull riding. While the bull is bigger, it�s so much bigger that it�s bulk makes slower and more easily tired. Broncos, on the other hand, are strong, but light and fast and energetic. Bulls hurt and kill people, but you�re way more likely to be injured whilst you�re trying to tame a bucking bronco.

I thought about it for a while in my drunken haze, and I decided that I�d like to do something like that. Maybe not as a career for the rest of my life, but before I die, I want to have a job where I�m in great danger of dying every day. The jumping off the ladders has become too...well, not mundane, but I know that there�s no way in hell I�ll get killed doing it. I can and have hurt myself doing it, but death is a little too far-fetched. I want something where I take my life into my hands. I want to BASE-jump. I want to run with the bulls.

I should be a contestant on fear factor. That�d be fun.

i�m making no sense anymore. But I�m making the most out of the nonsense, as this is my first whack at a computer in five days. At least I had a ton of e-mail.

Anyway, I�ll try to update tomorrow. TOnight, I have tickets to Lord of the Rings. Later

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com