Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-29 - 7:51 p.m.

Damn skippy.

Today I gave the finger to the world. Blew off work. Blew off Jon and Joe and the rest of the guys on the frisbee team. Blew off BT. Blew off everyone else. I broke every promise I made to be anywhere at anytime today.

Why, Ken?

Well, because John Bremer came up to me today at breakfast and said, "What are you doing right now?"

To which I replied, "Depends. What've you got in mind?"

To which he replied, "Wanna come help me focus lights?"

"Sure," I said, and I spent the rest of the morning at Rodman focusing lighting instruments. We took a break at about noon or so, for an hour, but I just stayed in the theatre and worked on my woodwork projects for Stagecrafts. (Carpentry rules. Now I know how Jesus felt. I'm currently building a large cross for myself. Now I just need to find someone to nail me to it. Maybe I can talk Wej into it.)

Then we went to the liquor store and bought 40's. I'm stocked and ready for another night of X-Treme Drunken Despondency. Hmmm...last week, it was cigarettes on the forehead. What to do this week? Well, I'll think of something. Best not to worry about the details until after the alcohol kicks in.

I've been really throwing myself into this play lately. Which is good, cause I have such an important part. I don't want the play to suck because of me. And it won't, nor will it suck because of anyone else in the cast and crew who are busting their asses for this one. No, it'll suck because the director is a Black Beret moron. But it doesn't matter much anyway. As the guy wearing the dress in the play, I'm going to get made fun of endlessly whether the play is good or bad.

And if it sucks, all people will remember is the fat guy in the dress.

Cheerful thought, Ken.

Well, it relieves the pressure. Knowing that, no matter what I do, this play is not going to be one of the highlights of my career...(especially with the pro critics coming to review it) relieves me of the pressure of worrying about being great. All I have to do is go out there, do my best, suck, get jeered, and go back to drinking heavily. Totally stress free.

Speaking of which, I hear a 40 calling me from the fridge.

Always, always remember this, folks- Pour one out for your homies.

Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com