Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-05-29 - 5:42 p.m.

I'm sitting alone and in the dark right now in the computer lab at Rodman. In twenty minutes, I go downstairs to learn how to apply my makeup for dress/tech rehearsal tonight. I have to learn how to age my face so I don't look 14 anymore, and I have to put on some fake scars. I figure it would be easier if I just scarred my face for real, but then I remembered that I already have enough scars for one person. Currently I have thirty-some-odd scars scattered around my body in interesting places, and I just picked up a new one. Two days ago, I was given a real knife to use as a prop for a part in the show where I cut some ropes. Well, I have to climb and perch a little to get at these ropes. You guessed it, my balance slipped a bit, and in my haste not to fall down, I sliced my hand open pretty good. It's about a one inch cut on the third metacarpal of my left index finger, and it bled like I had sliced a vein. It's also numb there now, which tells me I cut a nerve ending, so I won't be feeling much there anymore. Ken (the director) was not pleased. I don't know what he was so pissed about, I was the one who ruined a white t-shirt staunching the blood flow.

Why does it itch so much when cuts heal? What's up with that?

Today I went in to work for an hour at 2 while Patti (my boss) went to the dentist. Then I walked around town for a while and ran errands. I got bored with that quickly, and wound up here at 5, where I bumped into kate. Kate is cute. I hadn't seen her in forever, so we chatted a bit, then she asked me to help her unload her car. That killed a while, and thus I find myself here. Yep. That's the extent of the interesting things in my life.

I wrote a poem today, too, but it sucks. I remembered why I stay away from the poetical genre. I'm no good at it, except for epic poems in free verse (stories). I was inspired by the thought that I am going to work out for a while tomorrow. God, I'm lame.

My Cousin Ed and his wife Angela (who looks a lot like Courtney Cox. Ed is a lucky man) had their first child last night. Yay! No details yet on name, but he is perfectly healthy with a birthweight of almost 9 pounds. I'm a cousin yet again! Another boy (rarity in my family) for me to have a bad influence on.

You know what I find really amazing? In a town as small as Ripon, packed with so many people that I know from school and such, I have managed to find a way to completely disappear without becoming a hermit. It's interesting, but I just go about my daily life, and rarely do I encounter any of the people i used to see every day during the school year. We bump into each other incidentally, and people occasionally come by to use BT's computer or chat him up, but that's about it. The feeling is kind of nice, actually. During the year, especially towards the end, I was beginning to feel cramped and caged where I lived, like I would have to kill people to get away from them. Now I live in a tiny trailer with a roommate, and I still get more of an alone feeling than I ever did during the year. Go figure. There's something to be said for being trailer-trash.

The lure of the makeup room is too strong. I must now venture down to the second circle of Hell, where I will apply Bryll cream to my hair and try to make myself look like Boris Karloff. Then I can sit around and watch myself break out, as I always do when I have to wear theatrical makeup. It's either scrub till it hurts, or look like I'm back in high school again every time I do a show. I want to do this for a living why?

Ken

"My patience keeps me plaintive, my high hopes keep me alone. My lover's will is shaken, I wish she would just come home. So tell me, Mrs. Rita, what's it say in my tarot...read my palm and tell me, why do lovers come and go?"

Doug Hopkins

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com