Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-02-15 - 17:48:43

Hey, Ken, how's it going?

Okay.

How are you feeling? We haven't heard from you in a while.

I'm feeling much better today, thank you. I'm ready to resume my normal routine of ranting in the diary, skipping classes, and sleeping. Today I went to class for the first time this week. I finally feel strong and have energy again.

That's good to hear. What's this I hear about you upsetting people?

Yeah, twice in the last couple days (Monday and Wednesday) I've managed to really piss some people off.

What happened?

Well, the first time, I was doing a joking rant about some Valentine's Day plans, and one of my neighbors took offense. (She should realize that I was only joking and that I always welcome her shining face wherever I am. I don't ever see enough of it, is my only complaint.)

What about last night?

Well, I was visiting my friend Jon's radio show (which I'm going to do on a semi-regular basis now) and we were joking about and upcoming 'N'Sync concert and conversation led to what would happen if the "boys" in the band started doing massive amounts of drugs, and we got a call informing us that we'd managed to offend an entire sorority.

Really? All of them?

I don't know. The caller just identified her sorority, said she was offended by our choice of topic, and hung up.

Sounds like she really wanted to create an open dialogue and mature discussion about a sensitive topic.

I thought so too. Hee-hee.

You sound proud.

Well, I'm not proud if I've actually hurt people's feelings, because I do want to be friends with these people (I'll just call them, both the neighbor and the sorority, these women for simplicity's sake. I know they're very, very different, and I would never dare compare my lovely neighbor lady to a mere sorority girl.)

SO what are you proud of, then?

Well, I'm proud to have actually been able to get an emotional response from these women. Before these moments, none of these women seemed to care at all that I even existed, and if there's one thing I can't put up with, it's people with absolutely no passionate feelings about me.

You want them to like you?

Ideally, yes, I do. But failing that, I'd rather they hate me than just go, "Oh. Ken....eh, who cares?"

And these women don't give a flying f--- one way or the other about you?

That's the general impression I've always gotten. Most probably didn't know I existed, and those that did don't act as if they care and definitely don't act like they want to be friends.

But you have managed to trigger and emotional response from them now, even if it's just upsetting them.

RIGHT!!! And now that I know they feel emotions, we can work from there towards being friends (hopefully).

I see. You're a mad one, Mr. Dillon.

I know. I do apologize for anyone I've offended, however. That was never my intent. I just wanted to go for some cheap laughs.

So what else happened in your life lately?

Well, another Valentine's Day came and went, and I hardly even noticed. Here I thought I was going to be tremendously bitter, like I usually am, but I think I was too busy trying to not to die to notice what day it was. Odd. I got an e-mail from home saying that my dad is really doing well, so well he has the oncologists absolutely baffled. He's driving himself around again and cooking dinner. Quite a turnaround from just a few months ago, when they were telling us to start making funeral arrangements. Dillons are tough. We pride ourselves on it. What else? I got a package from my Mom with some Rice Krispie treats in it, and some clothes she found that she thought I just couldn't live without. New pants. Yay!!!

I hear tons of alums are in town or will be this weekend.

YEah, there could be as many as four at any given time!!! It's so cool. Alums are generally good for a laugh and a good time. And the ones that are/will be here are the good ones, are always good for a laugh and a good time. There are some evil ones who are never fun and overstay their welcomes, but they haven't been heard from in months to a year.

What kind of alum will you be?

Probably the kind that only comes back for formal once a year, if that. My choice of career means that my schedule will never be the same from one year to the next, so it's a crapshoot as to when I'd have time to visit and feel inclined to at the same time.

I'm so happy that the weekend is almost upon us.

Me too. Any plans for the weekend?

Well, I get to go bowling tomorrow night. (I love bowling) And then, hopefully a movie on Saturday, if I can talk people into it.

Sounds good.

Ken and Ken

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com