Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-12-26 - 17:07:09

F***ing libraries! They closed on Saturday the 23rd. And the 24th. And the 25th. So I haven't gotten to check e-mail or update this damn diary since Friday. Sorry to those of you who live to read what I write in here, or to you through e-mail. Hope you haven't killed yourselves yet.

So, what's new? I'll break down the last few days in a series of "mini-entries" here for you to peruse.

Dec. 23- Didn't do much of anything today, since there was nothing to do. Housework mostly. In the evening, I went bowling with Brian and Barbara, and boy, did I suck. I don't know what was wrong with me, but I couldn't hit anything. I ended up with an 89, and that's terrible....for me. Not that it's a bad score for other people, but I average around 150, so 89 is like one of those bad dreams where you go to school with no pants on and everyone laughs at you. (In real life, they don't laugh so much as they either look horrified, or point and giggle. What the hell was I thinking last year?)

Dec. 24- Got to go downtown at 8am with my mom to set up luminarias again this year. (My mom's on my high school's band booster board, and they have the contract with the Merchant's Association downtown, wherein, for $60 per hundred lums, we will set them up on the 24th in front of their businesses, light them, then clean them up.) What fun I had!!! Unloading 21,000 paper bags full of sand from the back of a semi. Sand is a lot heavier than people think, especially since some overzealous people were worried that they might blow away in the wind (what wind?) and really filled the bags with as much sand as they could hold. That was good for my back!!! Then we went back at 4pm to light the damn things. I got to play with fire, which was good, and I got a discount at a candy store for working on this project, but that was the only good that came of it. I found it really amazing that the beauty of 21,000 luminarias really loses it's luster when you've just spent 3 hours hunched over with an Aim'n'Flame lighting the f***ing things. By the time we were done, all I wanted for Christmas was to go to bed and sleep in. Is that too much to ask?

Dec. 25- Apparently so, because I got to get up at 4:45am to go back downtown and pick up the bags. The weather was actually kind of warm, but I have a moral objection to being up before the sun on a holiday. Then, at 1pm, I got to go to a church downtown that had also bought bags, and pick up their 1,500 lums. At Old Town, we had help, but at the church, it was just me, my mom, and Brian. That was also about the time it started snowing.

things got better that night, though. We finally got to open presents when my sister got home from work. People finally caught on to what I really want for Christmas, as I racked up $100 cash for presents. I also got a $25 gift certificate to the mall, a $15 gift card to a CD store, and, as I just today discovered, my lovely Aunt Ellen and Uncle Scott (who's just as lovely) sent me an electronic gift certificate for $25 to Amazon.com. Cool!!!

I also got a big movie guide from my Grandmother. It's complete listings of all Sci-fi, horror, fantasy, and film noir movies ever made. it's kind of interesting, in a strange sort of way.

Dec. 26- Today. Damn, but it's snowing out. There's almost a foot on the ground. Yes, Wisconsinites, I know, that's not impressive...until you consider that this is NEW MEXICO! As in, next to MEXICO. Desert!!! It was 65 degrees here a couple days ago. And now there's 12" on the ground. (Wow, 12", that's over 8 and a half times my normal length....uh....I mean.....Let's just move on, shall we?)

Finally getting to go on-line again. I have a lot of e-mail. And yes, for those who were curious, the ball of energy I was accusing of cursing me was Darlene. But she proclaims her innocence. My next guess would have been Hoff-Man, (and I'm not alone in that assessment) but she claims she "didn't" do it. Sure. Personally, I think Dar and Hoff were collaborating. So I';m throwing this mystery open. Who knows who did it? Who has info? Remember, being open and honest immediately avoids the rampercussions that will come later. WHO WANTS ME TO BE BALD, DAMMIT!!!!

Anywho, now I'm off to the after christmas sales to buy toys and CD's. What fun. And maybe one day I'll answer those damn surveys....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com